Superstarxtala Production #18: 💙Love Bali💙 (Eat·Pray·Love Capital of the World)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello again, dear Steemians!💙


20170910_161825(0)-01.jpeg

I was drawn to Bali when I first watched Eat Pray Love in 2010. Primarily, I was a fan of Julia Roberts, but when I learned that the movie was adapted from Liz Gilbert’s bestselling book “Eat, Pray, Love”, which is her memoir, I became more drawn to it. Not that I was married and got divorced, but I was undergoing pretty much the same situation at that time, a little lost and confused about my life that I wanted to do something bold, something out of the ordinary like what she did.

In the early months of 2017, I just had the same feeling again and since I was also turning 30 that year, I thought of letting myself do just that, something bold and out of the ordinary (well, for myself). As soon as I saw a seat-sale for Bali, I just booked that ticket and started planning the trip alone. This was supposed to be my first solo travel.

However after a few months of planning, that feeling of being lost and confused seemed to go away. Perhaps, like what I always say to myself, it’s only a phase and it will pass. Then when I was booking my hotels, most room rates were already good for 2 persons. While the hotel prices in Bali are relatively cheap, I felt like it was still such a waste that I am paying for a room for two when I’m only travelling alone. At first, I just thought of bringing my mom with me, but I do not want to spend the entire 6-days just with her, we might drive each other crazy. Haha So I just then decided to bring her and my dad instead.

Okay, to be honest, aside from that, I was also a little scared to be really doing it alone. Remember I wrote about this in my blog about my first solo travel experience? Lastly, it was going to be my 30th birthday and I just realized it would be a little sad to celebrate alone. And that’s how I ended up in doing this travel with my parents.

Similar to my previous posts about my first solo travel, I will be writing about this in parts. I am hoping though than I can cover my 5 full day tour in just 2-parts.

So we had an early flight from NAIA Terminal 3 on a Saturday at 4AM in the morning and arrived in Ngurah Rai International Airport at 7: 50 AM. It was almost a 4-hour flight from Manila. Since I was travelling with my parents who are already in their senior years and it would be difficult for them to just travel like I’d usually do with my friends (DIY), I decided to just book a tour that includes almost everything, from airport transfers, hotel transfers, entrance tickets to the places we were going to visit, free daily lunch and drinking water supply (mind you, sometimes a bottled water in Bali is more expensive than a bottle of Bintang!).

The tour was very convenient because you wouldn’t worry too much anymore about getting a ride and argue with the cab drivers about how much they would charge you. Based on my research and sadly, it is known that some cabs in Bali would charge a hefty price for a ride and Uber by the way is not welcomed in the island. If you plan on booking one, you need to do it discreetly because otherwise, you and the driver might get mobbed. Another good thing about the tour is that your driver can also be your instant tour guide because they already know so much about the places, plus instant photographer! We all know that sometimes it’s just hard to ask strangers to take your photos, right?

You can know more about this tour here. I only availed the 5-days and 4-nights tour because I also wanted to spend a day in Nusa Lembongan Island, which unfortunately they did not offer.

What’s also good about them is that they allow you to make some adjustments on the tour depending on the schedule of your flights, like what I did. I also asked them if it’s okay that I squeeze in my Nusa Lembongan Tour on our Day-4 in Bali and just take the remaining days of the package in the following day and they agreed. Our driver also assisted us already in looking for an organized tour in Nusa Lembongan. By the way, depending on the traffic on a day, the driver might suggest that you already visit some places that are scheduled on the other days, which is actually convenient to save time.

The entire 5-day tour cost us 165USD each, while our Nusa Lembongan day-trip tour cost us 65USD each. So it’s a total of 265USD each, which was pretty okay and since all tours already included our lunch and while our hotels also included daily breakfasts, we only needed to spend for our dinner for each night. Food prices in Bali are a little more expensive than the food here in the Philippines. Our daily budget for dinner for the three of us was 500,000 Indonesian Rupiah or 35USD per night (or 11USD/person x 5[1-lunch plus 4 dinners] = roughly 60USD), but we were surprised that we would always end up saving some Rupiahs each night. Overall, we spent 325USD/each for the 5 full days and 5 nights (our 6th day was already the day we leave the island, which was also considered as the 5th day of our tour package).

I will talk more about the places I visited on the next part, but for now, here’s our itinerary and some snaps from our first day in Bali.

Day 1: Airport Pick Up + Uluwatu Sunset Tour Itinerary

07.50 – Pick up at airport by flight Cebu Pacific at 07.50 am


20170909_081015-01.jpeg


10.00 – Batuan Temple


20170909_103019-01.jpeg

20170909_104247-01.jpeg

20170909_103616-01.jpeg


12.00 – Check-in to Alam Sembuwuk Resort


20170909_115935-03.jpeg

20170909_124757-01.jpeg


14.30 – Pick up at the hotel to Uluwatu Temple


20170909_163511-01.jpeg


17.00 – Uluwatu Temple


20170909_173048-01.jpeg

20170909_173606-01.jpeg

20170909_173753-02.jpeg


17.45 – Watch Kecak Dance Performance


20170909_184348-01.jpeg

20170909_184840-01.jpeg

20170909_220301-01.jpeg


20.00 – Enjoy Seafood dinner at Jimbaran Beach


20170909_213227-01.jpeg

20170909_204259-01.jpeg


22.30 – Back to hotel


So that’s day one, see you all on the next part!🤗

xoxo


Tala😘

received_10215471600731890.png

Footer_-superstarxtala.png


You may also want to check my previous travel posts:


4. My Very First Solo Travel Experience: My two-cents worth of advice (3/3)
3. My Very First Solo Travel Experience (2/3):Yolo Iloilo, hala bira!!
2. My Very First Solo Travel Experience (1/3): Hello, Islas de Gigantes
1. Misadventures in Chasing Sunsets and Milkyway


Sort:  

ohhh wow it has been awhile since I went there but the experience left me spellbinded

There's really something about Bali that makes you just fall in love with it.

Our tour was already so packed, but there are still so many left to see. Can't wait to to go back.😅

So sweet of you to bring your parents to Bali. You did the right thing to book a tour for their convenience :)

I didn't have the time to see that part of Bali but the Uluwatu and the open field Kecak performances look interesting!

Yeah, it would be really difficult for them if we did not take a tour, because the tourist spots are very far from each other. Sometimes it takes an hour or more than an hour to go from one place to another.😅

Anyway, so this gives you another reason to go back to Bali!🤗

Hehe I need to see a lot of places in Indonesia alone :D

I love that you travel with your parents! And Bali is just the beginning. They would want to go to more places so have your wallet ready 😂!

Hahahaha I know! Watch out for our next "Superstar Lakad" as we conquer the high seas!😅🤣💸

Congratulations @superstarxtala, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post.

What does this mean for you? Well first an up vote from the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with a follow and an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Issue 3
Read Me ASAP.png

Hi @asapers! Thank you so much for the support! So glad to see some actions from you guys! Keep it up and I believe in your advocay to make a difference in this platform.

To give when others doesn't. To cherish where others won't. To encourage when others are struggling. To motivate when others turn their backs on them.
I want them to be good leaders...
And I know they will become splendid role models.

All the best to you guys!🤗🤗

@superstarxtala, I noticed that you had unfollowed the @asapers I hope we didn't offend you by curating your post. If you would like your post removed please let me know. I am unable to remove the profit share with you at this stage but if you would not like that please let me know and I will endeavour to find out how to remove it.

Kind regards, @asapers

Oh no, this is a mistake! 😅 i didn't mean to unfollow you because when I went to your page eralier, i was surprised that i haven't followed you yet because the follow button still showed. So I did clicked it. I think there's a lag in my internet connection.
Don't worry, this is only a mistake. You and @hitmeasap always have my support!🤗🤗

Thanks, @superstarxtala we appreciate it. I do that sometimes too, there is a lag which can trick us sometimes. See you around! :)

Hehe yeah, I was even thinking earlier how can I not have followed you, when I remember that I already did as soon as I read about you from @hitmeasap. So then I clicked that button. 😅✌

Nice! Thanks I'll see you around the blockchain. Have a blast!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=superstarxtala
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=superstarxtala-production-18-love-bali-eat-pray-love-capital-of-the-world


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ang ganda at ang cute naman ni Tala :D

Hahaha pakiabanga po ang susunod na kabanata😅

Yepp inaabanga ko, di mo na kailangan sabihin :D

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Thank you so muuuch!!! This is my first recognition here in steemit! Really appreciate your support!🤗😘

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by superstarxtala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42