You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Going on a Holiday!

in #travel7 years ago

Wow you are really white!! You will be a huge hit in Asia and especially Thailand. Asians value light skin as a reflection of a privileged lifestyle and that you do not have to toil and work in the sun. Lighter skinned people are perceived as more wealthy and are held in higher regards. You also have red hair but I do not know why they love red heads as much as they do but I am sure your beauty, white skin, and red hair will make you a celebrity!!

Have fun and take lots of pix!

Sort:  

I do not intend to be "hit" or "celebrity" in Thailand, that is just weird. I'm a tourist in there and the people serve me only because I pay them, not because I have light skin. And I do not have red hair!

In Thailand I did not find people treating me like a "celebrity" at all or looking at my skin color, there are a ton of tourists there and I don't think it's unusual for them.

Well said. I think it's important to hold in mind those things that unite us rather than external factors which can be used to buy into this illusion that we're all divided into an "us versus them" social dynamic.

I wouldn't expect it in Thailand, but if you make it to Vietnam, and I highly suggest that you go to Vietnam, it's an amazing country, you may get a bit of... weird celebrity type stuff there. I'm pretty tall, and VERY white. I have been around SE Asia twice and when I am in Vietnam I quite often get asked by local kids in villages if they can take a picture with me, seriously. Also lots of older ladies, especially in markets, will grab my hands and tell me how beautiful my skin is. It's a strange thing but I think it is more common in Vietnam. I was confused the first few times it happened because I think Vietnamese people have freakin gorgeous skin, and so I eventually asked one of the ladies why they all say my hands are so beautiful, and she told me "Your skin is so white! We looooove white skin!!" haha, I was so embarrassed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56