Self-care and stuff

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I showered today. Which for most people isn't much of an accomplishment, but this summer has been a little rough on the psyche. The lack of a routine, of a purpose, and the stress of major changes (move, new job) is taking a toll. A major toll. Like I couldn't remember the last time I showered toll. Thankfully, there are books, photos, and Nailed It on Netflix. If you want to feel better about yourself, you should watch Nailed It- watching people seriously screw up on baking challenges (not exactly life or death) will make anyone feel better, I guarantee. Also, I kind of want to be on that show. I would learn so much. And fail so hard.

Is this a ulog? I'm just going to word vomit so.... maybe?

Annnnnnnnnnd on to the travel photos. They make everything a little better too.


This was right before Phantom of the Opera on Broadway in New York (the only good part of New York, I promise you). I was stupid excited- I have had a thing for live theater since junior high. I also might or might not have sobbed embarrassingly during this show- the singing, the set-work, everything was just agonizingly beautiful. I feel bad for the people who sat next to me.


Lake Como in Italy was ammmmmmmmazeballs. This was in Varenna, one of the towns that were along the coast, at one of the villas. This little building was designed for nothing but to look pretty. I guess you would consider it a gazebo- but I have yet to be in a gazebo that was quite that beautiful before or since. I miss Italy with a soul deep ache.

italybeachlounge.png

Did I mention that I miss Italy? I just realized that all but one photo from this post will be from Italy. I make no apologies. Some people have soul mates- I might have found my soul-country. Something about the sunshine, the fact that there was an ENTIRE ISLAND dedicated to the beach (this was one of the islands near Venice, called Lido). Although I didn't actually lounge in one of these fantastical seats for 50 euros, taking a picture was almost as good.

italybeach.png

One of my most distinct sense memories from Italy was the feel of these rocks under my feet- HOT HOT HOT.



I had to wear my flip flops down to the edge of the water, and pray that the level didn't rise enough to take them into the ocean. I actually hiked out to that tower, hoping to climb it, but it was closed. Amazingly, those caves had lines with clothing strung across them. It was strange and surreal to think that people actually lived in those caves (and didn't make enough to afford a mechanical dryer- seriously, in any other country you would have to be wealthy to afford such prime real estate).

italy.jpg

coffee.png

Positano sigh The two photos above are from the same area of Italy- the Amalfi coast. The coffee was from our bnb, and was made/served fresh on their patio (surely there's a fancier word for patio in Italian, but I don't remember what it is). Walking up those hills was torture. I have never felt that kind of burn in my muscles in my life. I also learned that caffeine triggered migraines while I was in Italy. Discovering food allergy reactions while in a foreign country are not fun, but I would do it again to be there. I would do it three days in a row to be there again. Someone send me there again. Please?

beeritaly.png

I don't know what I miss more about Italy- the beer, the wine, or the coffee. They were all so good, and so, so cheap. I took this photo because I wanted to capture the instant of contentment that I was feeling at the time. I don't remember another point where I'd ever had the exact same emotion- where I was satisfied, where I wasn't striving for something, anything to feel complete.



All photos and words are property of Sunravelme (for good or for bad)

Sort:  

Its been a time like that for me, lots of changes left me untethered and unshowered lol. I'm currently in Bali working on a crypto video game project haha, ben hoping to shock myself awake and it seems to be working. Definitely showering more <3 ;)

Bali????!!! The little green monster inside of me is eating me alive right now.

self care is a thing. refusing to take showers because you just dont give a phuck is a liberty. there are enough days where you wont have a choice, enjoy the freedom of summer!

italy the way you saw it sounds wonderful. for me it was a few crowded mess of lines and lonely days in venice with not much money (i was returning from greece, which i highly recommend as long as you go to the islands). im thinking italy is meant to be shared. when were you there?

also : was the migraine from the coffee or the coffee, the wine, not enuf water and too much heat? when i was in france doing that routine i got sunstroke, which feels like a huge migraine. just a thought

I totally look at it like that also, I try and find where I have actual freedoms I can exercise

That's a good way to look at it! I didn't do it because I forgot, I did it because FREEDOM!

It might have been the sun or the wine, but ever since Italy (summer of 2017) I get a little tingly when I drink caffeine, which is my migraine aura.

Greece is on the list for sure! Venice was fun, I loved all the little nooks and crannies and hidden places. Google maps constantly led us to dead ends, or insisted we jump over the canals to get to our destinations. But I can see how the crowding and lines might be off putting.

Love the travel pics! And yes, little things are actually the big ones when you get to it!

Happy you made a bit of time for you today! 😎

Thank you- sometimes it's the little things that get forgotten the most easily. Hopefully things will settle here soon!

Travelling outside of the U.S. is something that I've never done, so these pictures are pretty cool!
As for Broadway, I would love to see one of the classic musicals! Watching a video of one is a poor substitute to actually being in the audience.

I adore traveling- last night I dreamt of Mexico. If you live near the city, they might have a pretty decent theater program? Broadway actually refers to the number of seats available. Denver has an excellent theater- they throw large scale plays on the regular. If you have an opportunity, even to see something homegrown, I recommend it!

When I feel down, I lay in bed, and then it's too late to brush my teeth. The issue with getting used to brushing your teeth just before going to bed is that when you get down, you simply don't do it...

I hear you.

Laying in bed might be a huge part of the problem. Must make an effort to start going for walks... tomorrow...

It's like that joke, "Procrastinators of the world unite! Tomorrow..."

So glad you found some time for self care! It’s been a crazy couple months of transitions for many people, I think we are all opening up to the next level, and it can be uncomfortable! Love the travel pics and thanks for sharing :)

Summer- where you swear you will do all the things you couldn't do in the winter but then decide not to because it's too hot. Hope you and your little man are keeping comfortable!

why shower when you are so gonna get dirty again? lmao girl omg those pics! i envy you, even in your unshower state of being, Lake Como looks so gorgeous, keep enjoying your down time and dont shower save water!

Lol yes I need to take advantage of the down time! I'm being environmentally friendly- that's the real reason.
Lake Como was spectacular. There was very real conversation of never going back to the states and just having our pets shipped over while we were there.

omg important stuff to get your pets never leave pets behind they deserve to enjoy Lake Como as well as you!

Stunning photos... Of all my travels, I think that Italy must be my favorite for its natural beauty & art ( it looks like we visited some of the same spots)! Thanks, for sharing this Beauty ♥️

Sharing the photos was a little bit of therapy for me- a reminder that there are good things in the past and there will be good things in the future.

Gratitude is the best attitude and summons more goodness our way. Wishing you lightheartedness & well being 🙏🏼

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sunravelme☀ from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76