Austin's a Little Batty

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


Source

Every night during the summer in Austin, hoards of people gather along the Congress Street to watch an urban bat colony emerge from underneath the bridge. This was one of those things that I didn't even know was on my bucket list until I heard about it. I've been fascinated with bats since my first spelunking experience in middle school, where I got to see a little one face to face in the wild.

28340979098_6430fbb334_o.jpg

People were everywhere- on the water, down on the ground in the park, and along the top of the bridge, fighting for space on the rail. People waited at least an hour before sunset to get a good spot- although I was there about 30 minutes ahead of time and pretty satisfied with my space on the railing.

41313313595_02d3313c62_o.jpg

As the sun started to set, I got a little impatient and googled about the bats. The bat colony is made up of 1.5-2 million Mexican free tailed bats. The colony is larger in August, when the mothers give birth to their young. The colony is the largest urban colony in North America, which is part of what makes their emergence so fascinating to watch- there are so many.


Source

Initally, one or two came out from under the bridge and wheeled around to go back under, as if they had changed their mind. After a few minutes, the number increased to a flood, a river of bats extending to the horizon as they winged their way to the bug buffet in the sky. The ceaseless flow of bats was just fascinating.

Check out this gif I made of the bats!


Photos that aren't mine have a source linked under them
Words and all other photos are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sunravelme
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=austin-s-a-little-batty


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I'm glad you guys made it over to see that! I've still never seen them emerge there in Austin.

Dear lord that is a lot of bats. Would make for some great inspiration for a vampire or horror story.

Ohh sweet! What a coincidence with bats! :D
Im not sure if I can tell between a bat or a bird at night ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97