You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels With Connie #57 Stonehenge

in #travel6 years ago

I guess when you have the kind of money old Sam Hill had you could build anything you wanted, I don't think a replica of Stonehenge would have ever made my" to build " list though. I could think of a lot of other things that would though.
Those are some nice shots of the river from that spot for sure, very scenic indeed.

Sort:  

Yep, old Sam had a couple of bucks. Nothing like his Father-in-Law Jim Hill, but he made a fair piece of money in the Pacific Northwest. He just loved the River and this area in particular. He developed a road paving system that is related to what we use today. In the days when there were a lot more horses than cars.

Sam was a pacifist. He traveled to Europe and saw the carnage of war and the 'other' Stonehenge in the same trip. I'm guessing those two things are related.

Thanks for stopping by. I have more than a few pictures of the river in the gorge that will show up pretty soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45