150 mile walk through Portugal and Spain - Camino de Santiago

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_0708.JPG

The Camino de Santiago is an old pilgrim route through North-Western Spain. In medieval times, it was one of the most popular destinations for Christian pilgrims along with Jerusalem and Rome. Over the centuries it's popularity has diminished, but over the past decade it has been coming back in vogue with travelers looking for an alternative type of vacation.

A little background on the Camino - after the death of Christ the apostle St. James went out to Spain to spread Christianity. After some time doing this, he ventured back to Jerusalem and was martyred there. After James' death, his followers brought his remains back to Spain and buried his remains there, but the exact location was lost. Then some years later a monk had a vision that the remains of St. James was buried under a "compostella' or starry sky. Upon having this vision he went out digging under this starry sky, and as legend has it he discovered the remains of St. James. From here they erected a large cathedral in Santiago De Compostela, which is the end of the pilgrimage.

For my Camino, I had a little under 2 weeks so I decided to do the Camino Portugues. I walked from Porto, Portugal to Santiago de Compostela, Spain which is roughly 150 miles in 10 days.

Here are some pictures from my journey-

IMG_0616.JPG

IMG_0617.JPG

IMG_0618.JPG

Starting with my arrival in Porto. At this cathedral above is where I got the pilgrim passport, and started on my journey.

IMG_0624.JPG

IMG_0632.JPG

These two pictures above were from day 1 of walking, it was all along the Portuguese coast and was very beautiful. The rest of the Camino was in land through mainly small towns.

IMG_0637.JPG

One of the many vineyards I passed on my way.

IMG_0659.JPG

The towns in Portugal were all very beautiful as well.

IMG_0677.JPG

Camino Art

IMG_0675.jpg

IMG_0679.JPG

IMG_0698.JPG

For a good portion of the Camino you walk on old Roman roads like the one pictured above.

IMG_0643 (1).JPG

IMG_0702.JPG

IMG_0670.JPG

IMG_0714.JPG

The end in sight !

IMG_0716.JPG

Made it ! But immediately collapsed :)

IMG_0727.JPG

IMG_0753.JPG

IMG_0754.JPG

The cathedral is being renovated, but it is still quite the site to see.

IMG_0762.JPG

Finally the actual casket of the apostle St. James. Whether you are religious or not, it is quite the site to behold and to feel. With so many pilgrims having walked from all over Europe throughout the centuries to this very spot, the place has a special feeling to it.

IMG_0771.JPG

Santiago is a very cool city in it's own right, and when I do the Camino again I plan to stay longer there.

I would recommend the Camino to anyone who is looking for a bit more of an adventurous vacation. I met interesting people from around the world on my Camino, and it was overall an awesome experience for me. Although it can be expensive to travel in Europe, the Camino is relatively inexpensive. For accommodations you will stay at "Albergues", which are like hostels but only for pilgrims. You can expect to pay 5 euros a night for these. There are also cheaper meals for pilgrims as well.

If you have any questions about the Camino please comment them below and I will answer.

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

travel ar nature niye apner aie lekha ta amar khub e valo laglo.

Hey, this has the potential of being a great post.
Why don't you add some more detail or backstory to your travel/picture descriptions and elaborate on your motivation to go on a pilgrimage ;)

Hey, thanks for the feedback I appreciate it! This was my first post I really put time and effort into, but i did this Camino last May so everything is not so fresh in my mind. I will incorporate your feedback in my coming posts.

Congratulations @sullivan93! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Now I now a little bit about the history of the camino, thank you for that. When I finished my camino, I didn't even go into the church. This is the first I see of the inside. :D

cool, glad you got a deeper understanding of the Camino from my post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39