By train through Europe - 7th August - Finland

in #travel6 years ago

Another Finnish morning, this time a sunny one, promising 20 °C. After breakfast, we played some more Mölkkly, until @escapist and @eveuncovered stopped by with their car. After the mandatory exchange of pleasantries (“Wow, you own clothes?”), we made our way towards a forest, even though @apsu kept making slightly threatening comments, like “Hmm, I wonder who’s the juiciest”, and “Damn, I forgot the spices!”.

IMG_20180807_130548.jpg

Our hike was full of blueberries, raspberries, penis jokes, stops to take a picture with all three cameras (in possession of @escapist , @eveuncovered , and @apsu because I only have a phone), and mosquitoes. So. Many. Mosquitoes.

IMG_20180807_130735.jpg

The frequent encounters with those bloodsuckers were a good preparation for our trip to Transylvania, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

After the hike, we made a short detour to pay @apsu ‘s mother in law a visit, or rather her apple tree and chickens. The Finnish countryside is quite nice, but we headed back home soon, as @escapist and @eveuncovered had to drive further down to Helsinki.

IMG_20180807_144715.jpg

@reggaemuffin and me went, together with @apsu ‘s family, to a Mexican restaurant for dinner. So Finnish! There we encountered one of the most barbaric things ever. Before we were served our food, the waiter brought us popcorn. Salty popcorn. Salty popcorn with spices.

IMG_20180807_174525.jpg

In Germany, the average popcorn is sweet.

It was so wrong. But so good.

As our last authentic Finish meal, I had to face my old enemy: Rhubarb. It was cooked with sugar and served with sweetened whipped cream, and actually a lot better than I had expected. Guess that’s an enemy I have to let go now.

Sort:  

In all fairness I’m sure the Mexicans were spicing up corn long before the Germans. So weird that they served popcorn there though. Here the standard is chips and salsa.

I don't KNOW and popcorn is supposed to be SWEET you WALNUT

... :'D

Yeah, idk, I think it's something only Fins do? Chips and salsa is the standard in Mexican restaurants in Germany too.

Crazy Fins. You’re both wrong. Popcorn is supposed to be salty and swimming in copious amounts of melted butter.

Or even better, truffle oil.

Oh God ew

Wow, how many days did you spend in this Finland?

The views look amazing and wow, the popcorn looks absolutely awesome. Who would want their popcorn to be anything else than the salty, spicy heaven?

You're disgusting xD

I know, I don't actually enjoy them.

Everything you described about @apsu is just so @apsu. I'm happy to hear he's his same self in meatspace.

Your reaction to the popcorn is hilarious. I'm certainly familiar with sweet popcorn and it's definitely a thing... but popcorn as I know it is properly consumed with lots of salt and butter.

I guess you know I'm not German now.... Doxxed again! Scheiße!

I never, ever would have expected you to be German xD so nothing new here

I thank you for your post. I liked your post.

@suesa I don't think you would like kettle corn then, its made in caramelized sugar and then salted so it's sweet and salty! I love it personally! That and roasted almonds, mmm so sweet!

The trail looks awesome, do I see a wild blueberry in that bush? I agree misquitoes are nasty, I'd be happy to burn them all off the face of the earth as of right now XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66