Life On A Motorcycle Taxi Everyday -- Experience & Tips Asia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit friends

Hope you all had a pleasant weekend.

As I am today waiting for my ride today, why don't I share my story and experiences of passengering on motorcycle vehicles every single day from my place to where I work.

image

Why Do I Take It

Yes, In many ways it is a extremely dangerous transportation to consider.However, It is the most convenient and practical for short distance transit in my opinion. I am talking about vehicles here!.

Sky Train and Underground Trains are exceptional. They are very fast and I think Bangkok has a fairly adequate system considering as we are a developing country.

image

The majority of people in Thailand and other South East Asian countries require Motorcycle usage and Motorbike taxis since not all places can be arrivals by trains along with the fact that people don't really walk in 31C degree heat and many can't afford a car to go everywhere with. In my case, Illustrate this, I'd have to do a 10 minutes walk through polluted dust, humid heat and substandard foot pavement. On weekends i do actually enjoy walking sometime but during work days like most of us, I desire to arrive at work with minimum environmental impact.

Motorbike Rules 101

Never Think You Are "Dope" Like The Locals.

  • Guys, when you see Thai people sitting on the bike while they are on their phones or not holding on to anything, THAT IS NOT THE WAY!.Dont Copy That !!
    Tourist tend to copy what the locals do sometimes. But not all things that locals do are safe!. TT....Please hold on to the driver or the handle on the back. One bad break and you might turn face up right off the bike and it ain't dope for no one when that does happens.


Quit Daydreaming For A Sec.

  • "Keep your eyes on the road". Four eyes are always better than Two. In this case, better to keep a look out and not looking up to the sky and enjoy the ride to a point where you don't even look at the way. There can always be something the driver doesn't notice and you signaling calmly might safe everyone. Be cautious at all times!!.

    image


How to Not Flash Your Undies .

  • For us women, sitting on sideways while wearing a skirt is the best solution. It seems like a uncomfortable position to sit but unless you want to expose your underwear to the city, sitting on side-ways in better. This requires you to hold on to even more. I mostly try not to carry a lot of carriage to work on days I'm wearing skirts. One hand grabbing on the back handle and the other hand grabbing on the driver's shirt ( You can put your arm around their waist if you want, I'm sure they wouldn't mind it).

image


Helmets Will save your life, Put It On.

  • There are most regulations from the government requiring Motorcycle Taxis to carry an extra helmet. Unfortunately, many of them don't go out of their ways to ask you if you want to put it on and many people don't ask for it. I highly recommend for you to request it and have it on your head.

image

According to http://www.richardbarrow.com/2017/01/full-road-accident-statistics-for-new-year-2016-2017-in-thailand/
In 2016 there have been 9,517 deaths in Thailand due to road accidents. Sadly Thailand is one of the top 5 deadliest roads in the world.

image

Thai gorvernment are enforcing rules and regulations to decrease motorcycle road deaths.By stricter helmet usage and handing out fines, plus requiring driver permit. The accident number has been deminishing slightly but sadly not fast enough.

image

Motorcycles are so favorable to weave through traffics and saves an incredible amount of time you waste sitting in cars. Personally, It saves me at least 15-20 of time everyday instead of taking the car. I have time to sleep longer, exercise in the morning and even get some work done. Despite all disadvantages, If you are cautious and have understanding on how to use it the right way to increase safetyness it can be a great transport. Saving 15 minutes a day, 5 days a week, 52 weeks a year. That is 3,900 minutes or 65 hours. Plus in my case it's a really short root and I love being outside and getting some air before sitting in the office all day long.

I hope this post can be by some means helpful for Steemit travels out there.!!!!

Here's a related to the topic joke!

image

Have a Great Day guys !!!
Oxox,Suzana


*Pictures From Pinterest*
Sort:  

I am pretty scared as motorbike passagers but as driver i feel free and enjoy adrenaline of the speeed, feel the wind, hear sound of powerful motor.
Be so close to the road when i turn that i can touch it with my knees.

Mortobike are so great, a bit dangerous as most of the really exciting things in life.

You should try motocross!

Excellent post, thank you for sharing!

Thank you !!! 😌 this means a lot.

☺☺☺☺☺

I noticed lots of women taking these motorcycle taxis when I was in Bangkok. It's really a great way to get to work without being stuck in the massive jam!

Yes it's the fastest for short distances. Many women with heels also. I'm no at that level just yet. Lol !!!

I ve enjoyed having my own scooter a lot on the islands like koh lanta fe.

Atm I am in phuket and there the traffic is almost to much for me and I dont enjoy driving this much and most of the time i get a grab.

In BKK I would not even think about getting my own scooter ;-)

I used to love bike rides when i was living at home.But Phuket has a lot of steeply hills and bad drivers. Be careful and stay safe.!! :)

Cool post.. The thing with motorcycle helmets is once they are dropped they have to be replaced.. not sure if I would trust a motorcycle taxi to honor that.. but it looks like a lot of fun ;)

Wow same ride here. Going to NAIA Airport (Philippines) boarding Cebu Pacific to Boracay. I rode a motorcycle-taxi in Libertad just to avoid traffic and delay on my flight. Hehe, I love it! It's a great experience! Thanks for sharing :)

upvoted you and its great to read all your posts because it adds a great skills and knowledge in myself, already followed you and inspired from your posts, hope that you also follow me back so that it will be a great pleasure for me and a big contribution from ur side for me , thanks kindly follow me and resteem my post aswell
@shanzaylizay

555 good post! But the motorbike taxis in Thailand are safe and tame compared to Vietnam :D

If you have a second please check out my blog, I live in Thailand and post photos and videos from here. Following you!

Nice....
Thanks....

Ha, funny comic! Yes multitasking can be good but also go very wrong. Traffic will surprise you always. You need to be aware, on a motorcycle even more so. Good rules to stay safe while taxiing from one place to another. Good post @suerisue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85