Vacation tips! Where should I travel to this summer?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone,

So today was my last day on the internship and tomorrow is the first day of my summer vacation. I've been thinking of going on a short vacation during the summer but I'm having a really hard time deciding on the destination.

So I thought who better to ask then the great community of Steemit ! :)

I’ve travelled to a few places already and I really just want to see every country there is some day so that’s partly why i have such a hard time deciding. I like big cities but i like small towns and countrysides too.

So far I've been in these cities: Stockholm (Sweden), Copenhagen (Denmark), Barcelona and Malaga (Spain), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Hull (UK) and Helsinki (Finland).

Now I want to ask you for your favorite city/country that you would recommend that I visit! One requirement is that the climate is warm. I live in the north and can tell you all that I've had enough of snow for this year. :D


Here are two awesome pictures of what Barcelona looks like from the sky, don’t know if you’ve seen it before but i think it’s really interesting how they built all the blocks to look like that. I didn't notice it while i was there though. Saw it on these pictures later on Google. Haha!

Arch2O-Cities-from-the-Sky-AirPano-02.jpg

Arch2O-Cities-from-the-Sky-AirPano-12.jpg

Source for the images

I'd recommend to anyone who’s having the same problem to visit Barcelona and Amsterdam. Such beautiful cities and I want to visit them both again some day! Also Costa del Sol for anyone who likes long beautiful beaches with 90% of the year being sunny.

Please comment where you think i should go next! All ideas are welcome :)

Thank you in advance to anyone who can give me some good tips!

Peace out, Strawhat

Sort:  

I really loved Scotland for its beautiful nature. If you enjoy nature, you have to visit both the lowlands and the highlands, they are both amazing in their own way.

If that's not warm enough, Portugal was nice aswell! I really enjoyed the city Albufeira there. Or go for a Greek island. For both of these, i was able to eat out every night, because it was so cheap compared to here in the Netherlands :-)

I would recommend Malta. It's a gorgeous place, very affordable prices, beautiful weather (not too hot during the month of June), great food, amazing nightlife, history etc. Look into it; its definitely an awesome place to visit!

I will look into it :) haven't even thought about Malta to be honest! Thanks for reminding me of it :D

My pleasure :) I went there with my husband and a couple of friends in 2015 and had a blast. You literally have everything you need: beautiful beaches, a crazy amount of restaurants and bars / clubs, historical places (go visit Gozo, Medina, Valetta), boat rides and the list goes on and on. We stayed in Sliema and we managed to get around very easily by walking, riding the bus and / or taking the ferry, both inside of Sliema and to reach the areas around. So no need to consider renting a car :)

Wow that sounds really great :) thanks for sharing this!

Alright, Scotland actually sounds great, that could be a good one! But i think I would like something warmer for this vacation so I'm definitely gonna check out some trips to Portugal :) thank you!

Budapest is amazing! During mid-end August you also have a 7-day festival called Sziget, if you like the partyscene :)

I do like the partyscene actually :D not sure how you can survive 7 days of it though! Must be a hell of a week after it's over haha :3 thanks i will check out Budapest for sure!

Saint Augustine Fla. also has a good golf course. and plenty of sight seeing, also Puerto Rico is a good place to.

Honolulu, Hawaii, my friend. It's warm year round. You're surrounded by gorgeous clean beaches and lush mountains. The people are so hospitable that it shocks some tourist from time to time. It's also a great place for those who are learning to slow it down a bit to breath in life and beauty. Enjoy your new trip. However, if you visit our island, it will be our pleasure to share this paradise with you. Aloha!

Haha, yeah I've actually wanted to go to Hawaii for a loooong time already. But the cheapest flight from where I live to Hawaii is around 800 euros for one way. So unfortunately I don't have the economy to make that trip just yet! But in the future i will absolutely visit Hawaíi :) Thanks for the tip!

Oh, unfortunately, restaurant food can be very expensive. Tourist trap. Sorry 😩 Aloha!

Haha, that's too bad! Well maybe one day I will make it there! :) Aloha :D

Croatia is a nice place to visit. Personally I stayed in Split, but I traveled to see all the waterfalls at krka national park. Absolutely amazing trip!

Alright, Croatia sounds great man! I just Googled it and you could already see how beautiful it is from the first picture :D love the color of that water! I will definitely keep it in mind when i make my decision :) thank you

Cheers ^_^

Maybe Albania? The water same clear blue , amazing mountains and is cheaper than Croatia :D

I myself have traveled a lot in Europe, I can advise you depending on what your want:
For a city trip, there are some must see places out there. I think Rome and Paris are the two richest cities in history and culture. Paris also has a hectic nightlife. The budgets will be substantially the same as what you saw in Amsterdam.
If you want to rent a car and make the road, the Greek islands and the Croatian coast are superb, however, I highly recommend the island of Majorca in spain, which offers incredible diversity between sandy beaches, mountainous landscapes and A luxuriant vegetation. The nightlife is lively (although less known than its neighbor Ibiza) but you will not be disappointed. Prices are about the same as in Barcelona :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78