You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hitchhiking Tales #5: Crossing by Foot to the Most Dangerous country in America

in #travel7 years ago

Awesome! I love reading hitching adventures as I used to do it a LOT (and still feel like putting my thumb out occasionally). And you know what? I took the same route about a decade ago: leaving Guate via Chiquimula, entering Honduras around Copán, going up to San Pedro Sula, hanging out in La Ceiba for a day as I missed the ferry to ... exactly: Útila, where you're most likely diving right now. Am I right? ;-) The next leg took me down to the capital (horrible!) and then on to Nica via El Paraiso. Though I gotta admit, lots of times I abandoned hitching for the sheer abundance of colectivos. Fun memories, looking forward to your next update!

Sort:  

I featured your article in my curating post: https://steemit.com/curating/@stortebeker/some-favorite-posts-i-want-to-share May you have more exposure (and of course upvotes)!

Oh crap I don´t deserve you man, thank you very much for this one! Damn, I appreciate this, truly. I just resteemed you my friend.

No man, that's what we do here: writing posts others like to read, and sharing stuff we like so others may read it too. Only here we get paid for it too (which would be so much more exciting if the price of steem wasn't going down... but hey, come August!)

Hahahaha damn!! I am literally following your steps mate! I am still in la Ceiba because Ii tried to go to nearby places befores hitting Cayo Cochinos for three nights and camp in the beach and then attack Utila full force! Afterwards I am not sure if I am going to skip tegucigalpa and avoid your experience there... Still dont know if I am diving in Utila cause I dont have my open water, i always dive "ilegally" without a license but Im considering getting the license here, gotta decide soon.

Yes! There is a lot of colectivos around, i do it for shits and giggles but this has to stop til I reach Nica. Thanks man, I am so glad you took the time to write this and I read this, most of the time I answer very late and I apologize for this but i think you get it, the trail is a demanding mistress that leaves me with so little time for steemit :(

No worries, man. I'm sitting here at home and still miss half the replies to my comments... until I notice. As for me, I went to Utila to get my open water. It's the cheapest place on this continent, or so they said back then. In fact, the exciting part would have been getting the advanced open water and exploring the USS Halliburton sunk nearby... but a bad case of cold changed my plans.
I'm looking forward to your next posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57