Travel with Steve #3: Day 1 in Lisbon, Casual Chill & Acquarium

in #travel7 years ago

Not so happy to be back home. Travelling for me is the most exciting thing in the whole world and it's never cool to leave the place you're visiting in vacation.

There is actually one reason why I'm pretty happy to be home and that's internet and steemit. 

As I said in my latest post "Little Update", internet connection was very bad and plus, I didn't bring with me the computer which I'm writing on as of now. Instead I brought my brother's old macbook which cannot even be updated and could really do anything on it starting from compressing photos and upload them on PicHost. 

It was my bad, I recognize it yet I felt I couldn't really do anything other than advise you guys with a little update post while I was sipping a glass of porto in a bar.

So here I am, ready to storytell my beautiful journey in Portugal!

Lisbon

First day, of course, we landed in Portugal's capital, Lisbon. 

A bus brings us to the hotel and something "funny" happens already:
The lady at the reception desk asks for our id cards and charges our credit card for the 2 nights stay.
She can't find our booking so I take out my phone and show her the mail I was sent as a receipt.
She looks at it, then looks at us with smiling eyes: "Oooh you guys booked the suite!"
130 euros 2 nights for 2 people, how can it be a suite? Oh well, good for us, I think.
The room was shit. I wonder the other "non-suite" rooms how fucked up are. 

Dirty. I feel bad for Arianna who surprisingly doesn't care that much. She's too excited to be vacationing.

We leave our stuff in that flophouse and start cuising around the city.
I have to say, I had higher expectations yet I liked it a lot.

Arianna and I love to walk around new cities, infact as we did in NYC, we didn't take the metro or train at all. We walked the whole time and in my opinion is the best way to live the city at its best.

Lisbon is one of the oldest cities in the world. We went off and visited its city centre.

Lisbon was hit by an earthquake and a tsunami in 1755 and was completely destroyed. The prime minister at the time coordinated the rebuilding of the city and one of the first to be rebuilt has been Praca do Comercio, "Square of Commerce". 



We walked around the main streets and also the most niche ones.

We found a little pastry shop and immediately tasted the Pastel de Nata as suggested by @stella87s and @perennial99.
(Thanks for the heads up, they're delicious!)


credit


Being tired from waking up at 4 in the morning for the flight we figured we'd go rest a little at the crappy hotel room which was located in "Intendente" district.

We obviously enojoyed taking a look at every part of the city while getting there.

This guys was balancing rocks on the shore. I took a moment and talked to him. I have to say it wasn't easy as he couldn't speak english at all. Although he understood and appreciated that I was complimenting him.

Deviating our path just a little we got the chance to get to the highest part of the city and enjoy this beautiful view of the whole city! 

After a little rest we were ready to get back out and runnin.
We walked all the way to the acquarium which is up north at about 7km from our hotel.

Pretty weary yet it was completely worth it!
The Oceanario was a wonderful experience.


The most beautiful part of it was the temporary exhibition made by Takashi Amano and its called "Forest Underwater" featuring a tropical forest inside a magnificient acquarium.

The atmosphere was magical. Very few people (as it was an extra 5 euros or so to see it) and calm and chill music.


Best way to end the day! After that we just had a quick meal and called an Uber to get back to the hotel.

Next part of this trip will be uploaded very soon.

Hope you enjoyed this one for now!

PS: for my italian followers, I'll translate this tomorrow for you guys! 

Sort:  

Great topic Thanks for sharing

Che fine hai fatto? Facci sapere se stai bene !

Congratulations @stevelou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58