Roadtripping to Croatia, Part 4: City Walls Walk & Locrum

in #travel7 years ago

Dubrovnik is a wonderful, enchanting citadel.

Just yesterday I was having dinner with a friend of mine who told me that his younger sister is in Dubrovnik these days.
An uncontrolled smile took possession of my facial muscles.  😃 

City Walls Walk

The walls surrounding Dubrovnik are spectacular, massive, ancient. In fact, they are also an attraction:
I do not remember how much it cost but the price was definitely affordable. A walk on the city walls, completing the round, in a sort of circle. You can imagine the view on the highest part.
Actually, you don't need to imagine it!


On the other side, the view is just as beautiful. Here, the walls rise above the sea.


The walk, despite Dubrovnik being a very small citadel, tired us a lot.
A bit of relaxation could not have been denied.


The Harbour & Ferry to Locrum

After the walls tour, we walk towards the marina. A bombon. The part of the city that fascinated me the most.
Passing an arch, a small harbour streches out. There, locals encourage tourists to get on ferries to various destinations. Small islands at short distances.

 
We decide to take a ferry to Locrum, the closest one.


 
Locrum is a wonderful island. Wild, if I have to describe it in one word.
This is one of the reasons why, despite being the closest one, it is also the least popular: there are no sandy beaches.
It is a recurring feature along all the Croatian coasts. The "beaches" are rocky.

I do not know if you had a chance to understand it by reading my stories, but I don't like confusion.
So the fact that there were very few people on the ferry made me even more enthusiastic. 


Once we landed, we entered the dense jungle walking near peacocks and wild rabbits.

Arianna and I are two Game of Thrones' enthusiasts and guess what?
On Locrum Island sits the famous Throne!

Happy as a little kid!


After a long walk we finally find a place to lie down. Or rather, where they could lie down. Being a bit hyperactive, I let them cook in the sun and venture back into the island.
I found this magnificent place where I then brought back them three later on.


Here I was chilling by a 150 feet drop. Pretty scary!

The day ends with our return to Dubrovnik, a walk in the center to look for a typical restaurant, a subsequent dinner and return to the apartment.

The next day was gonna be a very busy day!

Sort:  

wonderful place to be .... and the land of game of thrones ... have good time in Croatia.....

You can say that again! This is actually me storytelling the roadtrip I went on last year. Will be in Portugal for a week starting from this Tuesday and will document live my journey :D

ha ha ha ...

Neautiful photographs and a beautiful woman too! ( The lady with the white hat ).

Excellent article

I'm upvoting this

Hey buddy, my girlfriend and I are thankful for your kind words :)

You are very welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39