India - Part 1 - The arrivalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians. I've been using this platform for a few days and I'm hooked. I'm enjoying it!

This time I want to share with you my trip to India. I visited South India as I was told that the south of the country is much more welcoming to overseas visitors and better suited for first-time travelers to India. The reason for this is that locals in India tend to go there on holidays, thus it has a very relaxed vybe. Besides I also wanted to visit the legendary "Goa Beach".

IMG_2813.JPG

For those who like trance music and or hippie culture, this is a mythical beach. I like trance and when I was in high school I used to like Psytrance, so I really wanted to go to Goa Beach and see what was so special about that location that gave birth to "Goa trance". Aside from going to Goa Beach, I also wanted to do a motorcycle road trip to the most southern tip of India, Kanyakumari.

map.png

Before traveling I went to the doctor to get all the vaccines you can imagine. I got sick before while traveling and it is not fun at all so this time I wanted to avoid that.

Anyway, my flight was to Kochi, this is the most convenient Airport for those traveling to South India. Kochi is in the state of Kerala. Kerala state is known for its ecotourism initiatives and beautiful backwaters. After several hours on the plane and a few stops, I could finally see my destination. I was ready to explore South India.

IMG_2571.JPG

I got off the plane and I bought two bottles of vodka on the duty-free and took a taxi to the train station. I had a train to take because I was on my way to Goa. By the way, not even Google maps show that train line so it is sort of a secret train. Luckily for me, I had an Indian friend who booked the train on my behalf

IMG_2580.JPG

IMG_2584.JPG

I had to wait several hours for the train so I decided to rent a lodge, this is a sort of hotel. Nothing fancy just a room for a few hours while I waited for the train. Since I was by myself and didn't have anything to do I started drinking and taking some selfies when I was drunk. I was shirtless because it was really hot!

IMG_2593.JPG

After that, I realized I had to go take my train which I almost missed but luckily the lodge was a few block from the train station so I just ran there. Now I was aboard the train.

IMG_2611.JPG

IMG_2610.JPG

The trip to Goa from Kochi took more than 12 hours. The train was not bad but wasn't very comfortable either so I was happy to arrive in Goa. In Goa my friend was waiting for me. He had a motorcycle and rented another one for me.

IMG_3007.JPG

We went to our hotel and then we decided to go to Anjuna Beach. This is also another mythical beach among those who like trance music. As you can see on the picture we were wasted, we drunk and smoked pot. Something you will realize in India is that the ratio males to females is completely disproportionate. There were about 10 guys per each girl, so most of the clubs there were just a bunch of guys dancing with other guys (Sorry to my Indian followers but it's true). Anyway, we meet two Australian girls and drunk even more.

anjuna.jpg

IMG_2625.JPG

IMG_2670.JPG

IMG_2668.JPG

We asked those girls to go after party with us to our hotel but they refused so we left them. We went to another bar and I saw a Russian girl that I liked. She was sitting with her friend so I went and sat there with them. After talking a few minutes and sharing a few more drinks I started making out with one of them.

IMG_2673.JPG

But as the night went on, I got more drunk and also started making out with her friend. It was funny whenever a girl would go to the toilet I would just kiss the other one. LOL

I usually don't do things like that so I will blame it all on the alcohol.

IMG_2675.JPG

After a while, some Indian guy came and wanted to start a fight with my friend. Suddenly I saw over 20 Indian guys surrounding my friend, getting ready to bash him. I was facing a dilemma, I was scoring with two girls but I had to go save my mate. So I went to try and reason with that crowd. After a few minutes, I managed to convince them that they were all drunk and will be better if they go without making problems. It worked because they didn't do anything else they just left. Unfortunately, the two girls saw the incident got scared and also left :(

The next day we went to explore GOA and went to a really nice beach to talk and remember what we did last night.

IMG_2804.JPG

IMG_2810.JPG

This is just the start. In the next chapters, I will share SUNBURN festival, New Year party at Goa Beach and the Motorcycle road trip to Kanyakumari.

If you like this content, please like and resteem.

Thanks!

Part 2 here: https://steemit.com/travel/@stevekelly/india-part-2-sunburn-festival-and-more

Sort:  

nice trip...hope to experience traveling around the world :)

A nice story and entertaining greetings !!!

Wow looks awesome :) xox

Congratulations @stevekelly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

good to know you were able to save your friend from a possible fight bro! too bad though those 2 chicks bailed out on you! a good read! i enjoyed it! :)

Thanks bro. Part 2 is coming in a few days. Cheers!

my pleasure man! see you around! cheers! :)

wow friend tremendous trip! successes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47