Dyffryn House & Garden Estate - By Steve J HuggettsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett.jpg

Time to visit a place I have known about for a few years, but never got around to paying it a visit until this weekend. The estate is again run by the "National Trust" which as members we get let in for free!

This amazing house, it was built back in 1893, but the Dyffryn Estate has been in existence from the 7th century.

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (10).jpg

This place was bought byJohn Cory, an extremely wealthy coal merchant from Devon and it was his wealth that got invested into this home and gardens.

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (8).jpg

They exported coal to over 120 different ports worldwide, you wouldn't think back in the 1890's this family had such an international business. The last member of the Cory family passed away back in 1937.

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (11).jpg

The National Trust took over their maintenance and running of the Dyffryn Estate in January 2013 on a 50 year lease. They are still, investing in the estate after a failed attempt to turn it into a Hotel back in the 1990's.

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (15).jpg

So, not all of the house is open to the public, but they hope to be able to fully renovate the house over time. I have to say they are going to need a lot of money, the place is huge!

This stained glass window is just stunning and perfectly positioned for the sun to light it up so well

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (16).jpg

The decoration is typical of this period and is just amazing with these ceiling paintings.

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (17).jpg

Time is running a little short as I have a meeting to get back for, so it was a quick walk through the gardens and OMG! There are so many small gardens in amongst the estate, this one is the Pompii garden

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (4).jpg

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (12).jpg

Spring is showing itself in the gardens with these beautiful Magnolia trees dotted about the place.

Dyffryn Gardens - by steve j huggett (6).jpg

Hope you enjoyed looking around the home, we are going to return as there is much more to explore.

What I use

Nikon D7200.
Sigma 18-300m
Software Adobe Lightroom.
Taken by Steve J Huggett.

Location

Pembrey Race Circut Carmarthenshire Wales UK

Thank you

I appreciate you taking time to read this post and viewing my photos. I hope you enjoyed them. Please let me know what you think in the comments below.

Please follow me on Steemit @stevejhuggett.


Image © Steve J Huggett. All Rights Reserved.
www.www.sjhuggettimages.co.uk

Sort:  

Unfortunately these big old buildings take mucho money to renovate and maintain....

Your right, I wouldn't want the bill for finishing this place!

Awesome shots, I just followed you. I love to take photos too, I hope I can travel more and get more cool photos like you with my D3300 :D

Thanks @pixaroma I have followed you back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91