TOOT - The Kingston Flyer Steam Train - South Island New Zealand

in #travel8 years ago

A few years ago my family travelled to New Zealand for a Trains 🚂 and Planes ✈️ Holiday. In 10 days we travelled on 3 trains , the Trans Alpine , The Kingston Flyer and the Taieri Gorge railway, we flew in a helicopter to the top of a mountain above Franz Joseph Glacier and enjoyed the Warbirds Over Wanaka air show.

I will post some more photos from our tour but today I have a short video of The Kingston Flyer Steam train . Unfortunately I've just learned that the train stopped running in2015 so we were lucky to ride it while it was still operational. The tourist operation and steam train is now for sale , maybe if I get enough upvotes in this post I could buy it and rename it the Steemit Express.


Captured with iPhone 5s , created in iMovie by Stephen Somers

https://twitter.com/steve_somers

This post is tagged as #TOOT - def: a short blast of a steam whistle

Sort:  

I saw the trains often on my cycle tour of the South Island in 2008. I did explore taking the train from Christchurch to Greymouth to recommence my tour after all my gear was stolen but timetables did not work and bus company was more friendly to bicycles.

Sorry about the flag wars going on here.

Bus was a good idea. That is big mountain range you'd have to cross.

We cycled around the top of it. Bus to Fox Glacier and cycled back along the coast and then inland via Inahangua Junction to Nelson.

Good move. I was exhausted driving up the mountain passes.

I'm glad to hear you got to enjoy the train. in the early 2000's I was a regular to Queenstown and never got to go down to Kingston for a ride. One of my regrets. Still no word as to what will happen to this train set. I'm sure it will find a new home but I doubt it will remain in Kingston in the longer term. Interestingly though the old route to Invercargill has become a cycleway as with many other old railway routes. Has been very good for tourism here.

Sad though I'm glad we could ride the Kingston Flyer. The Mary Valley Rattler Steam train near my home had been off the rails for s few years too. Looking promising for it now with some government funding.

Thats good to hear. Despite steam railways being a niche market I think people still find them fascinating machines. If donations and govt money can help keep it going to at least break even, then I personally feel it is worth it. Trouble can be the people with the know how to run these beautiful machines are getting less able to work or are very expensive to hire. Skilled volunteers here can be very hard to come by.

I hope your steam train gets back on track

@stephen-somers , you have to take these monkey down

https://steemit.com/@rizwanali101 , this one of them
https://steemit.com/trending/jenniferlawrence

You have been downvoted by these monkeys, Please take them down.
They don't deserve to be in the community.

Sorry I don't understand

some Downvoted you. Flagged them back so they can't hurt the community.
https://steemit.com/@rizwanali101 , this one of them
https://steemit.com/trending/jenniferlawrence

Thank you for alerting me. It is sad when people are flagging people vengefully when they have not done anything to them.

It did indirectly get you another follower; me. Some nice photos on your blog!

Hahaha so at the end the downvote was good for something :) I like this Video too Stephen, its amazing, a shame you don't get more votes...

Thanks. Followed back.

Its crazy ! They are going along and flagging lots of people for no reason! This system is very bad for the comunity! 👎👎👎

It's not the system it's the people, the system is ok...

There should be a way stop the abuse when someone goes along and flags every other post ! Or starts revenge flagging ! Like maybe a limit as to how many flags your allowedper day , or per hour etc, ! This really is discourageing to alot of people . Thanks for replying steem on ! 😉👍

I think a flag limit would be a good thing. This person is so childish flagging everything just because they got flagged for copy paste posting.

Ive seen this happen too often , thats why there should be a limit for these types of people ! Stop them in their tracks ! It didnt happen to me this time but i know what it feels like ! Not sure who to make the suggestions to, but something needs to be done about it . Thanks and keep steeming on ! 👍😉

It's a shame about the vindictive flags on this post for no reason. I hope those people who see it appreciate the story and video.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64