So We're Heading Back To South East AsiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I'm looking for the best hidden gems like food and eye candy.

image source
So my wife and I are heading back over to South East Asia to go and explore some more places we've not yet seen. But this time I would like to ask you guys for some insights for what we should definitely do and where we should go eat. Both my wife and I are big foodies and we love arts, culture, and architecture. We have some things on our list already that we'd like to see but what I'm looking to find it those tiny restaurants and street food vendors with the special blow your mind kind of flavours. If you guys can help me out with any suggestions I'll be willing to give you my best upvote in exchange.

So please hit me up in the comment section down below so that we can start this dialogue. We're flying out this Sunday, the 17th September. We'll be flying from Cape Town into Phuket, from there we're going to make a quick visit to friends of ours on Phi Phi Island. From there we're going to Krabi, Chiang Mai, Chaing Rai and Angkor Wat. Maybe you have some traveling suggestions for us, anything goes as we don't plan too far ahead and we can chop & change easy as. I look forward to what you guys have to offer.
image source

Peace be the journey

Sort:  

hey there! I've travelled every country in South East Asia, apart from Hong Kong - and i fly there in 8 days!

I lived in an travelled Thailand for 7 months and backpacked through Laos, Singapore, Vietnam, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines and i am currently in Taiwan!

I think I have some great tips for you and your wife!

@travelgasm that sounds epic. We might try a night or two in Bangkok but the quiter vibe is more appealing. Any help would be greatly appeciated.

Yeah for sure you can get a quieter vibe in Bangkok but you'd need to venture out of the typical travellers spots like Khao San road! haha.

Chiang Mai is great. You can go to Doi Suthep and Chiang Mai Grand Canyon. The south gate entrance has a night market that is AMAZING for food.

Also, the east side of the old town is great for food. Walk from one end of the East side to the other and you'll find great food vendors an coffee shops!

You can head to Pai for a really relaxed vibe. It's more hippies there but it's a great places to kick back and relax in the hot springs and waterfalls!

There is also an amazing motorbike trip that you can do! it can take between 3 and 6 days! it's called the "Mae Hong Son Loop" . You can drive from Chiang Mai to Mae Saring to Mae Hong Song to Pai and then back to chiang mai. its amazing for scenery and you can see the real thailand!

I did it in 4 days and loved it!

Thanks dude, I'll check this out today. I've only got the first 4 days planned so far.

not a problem. If you need any other tips for Thailand, check out my website www.Becometheatlas.com and find your way to the Thailand page! I think it might be helpful for you and your wife ! Safe travels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76