Starting the day with Gyros and frappe coffee in Crete, Greece

in #travel7 years ago

Good morning, everybody!

I am spending my summer in Greece, and I wanted to introduce to you the tradional pita Gyros. This is Greek traditional food, very similar to kebab, but made with pork and, of course, tzatziki, traditional Greek sauce made with yoghurt.

IMG_20170615_205916_020.jpg

For the summer, there is no sych thing as Greek meal without ice-coffee. Everybody drinks it here, regardless of whether it is in the morning or in the evening. I have chosen a frappe this time, which is a little different to what I am used to, as in my country there is a splash of whipped cream and a ton of sugar in it. Here it as way more balanced, very tasty nonetheless, and it was a pleasant surprise that water is served along with it, without paying extra.

Greece is my best experience so far, both in terms of people met and regarding food, beverage and sightseeing. If you're undecided about your next travel destination, I highly recommend Crete, Greece.

IMG_20170523_161902_972.jpg

Sort:  

Looks delicious. Must say that it seems like quite a greasy meal for a breakfast. But that is okay every now and again I think. Nice to spend the summer in Greece! Have fun out there and good luck with future posts!

Thanks. This is actually my first blog post, and I really enjoy it.
I have to agree. Not the healthiest way to start the day.. :) but when you're experiencing a different culture you have to go all in. Plus, the food is so delicious here, it's worth compromising your diet every now and then.

that looks amazing, makes me wish i had one right now. love tzatziki esp when it's authentic , would be nice visit greece one day 🌄 💦

It is a great choice. And fairly cheap compared to other destinations.

Im new here at steemit :)
I hope we help each other follow me and ill follow you back . :)
More upvotes :)

Hello man. Sure, why not

Yes thanks man :)

Hey @stefanbuca, both the view and the kebab looks really amazing! Are there lots of tourists in Greece? I've never been there.

Hey there. Thank you. Yes, there are. It's full over here. The season started in May, but June, July and August are the top months.

Thanks for letting me know!

Welcome to Greece @stefanbuca ! You chose the best place for your holidays =D
Where in Crete are you staying? I am not in Crete, but as I am currently leaving in Greece I can give you some local tips if you want.

Thank you. I stay in Hersonissos, the party place 😂

I heard about this place before, you will have fun for sure;)
Play safe, always have your helmet on =p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47