[TRAVEL] Kiev: Black Piglet Beer Restaurant 🍴

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I've been in Kiev since December 30 and I thought I'd share some of the experiences I've had in this gorgeous town as a first time tourist. To start, one of the many wonderful dining experiences.

What: Black Piglet Beer Restaurant
Style: Gourmet pub
Clothing: Casual
Where: Velyka Zhytomyrska St, 8/14

The name Black Piglet alone promised a lot for a pig enthusiast like me, as did the picture of the whole roasted suckling on their TripAdvisor page. "This restaurant is something for my brother," I thought. But truth be told, it's probably a restaurant for the vast majority of men. However, if you you happen to be a vegetarian, it will probably be difficult to find something filling here. They do however serve borsch, but everything else on the menu is pig themed.

There are many starters to choose from, and the entire menu communicates genuineness. I chose salo, which is something of a Ukrainian national dish. Simply put, salo is lard. The way it's served may vary and there's both smoked and non smoked salo. I went for the classic salo, cured with garlic and served with fried bread, scallion and a mustard sauce. It may not sound very appetizing to put 100% lard in your mouth, but this is truly a delicacy that melts in your mouth. Moaning ensued, literally.

For the main course I chose an oven baked casserole with pork cooked in smoked beer, served with a fluffy and buttery mash that would bring a smile to the face of any melancholic. For desert I had a lovely homemade Mille-feuille.

Something that clouded the overall impression was the stressed and somewhat nonchalant waiter, but then again keep in mind that I visited the packed place on New Year's Day. Despite the hectic impression, it was the best dining experience so far in Kiev. And considering that the whole feast costed me 375 Hryvnia (around 13 USD), I'll gladly return.

 @SteemSwede

Sort:  

Yes, in Kiev there is something to see but in my opinion it is better to do in the spring) and just as I advise you to visit Lviv

Yes, I plan revisiting in the spring! Lviv looks really beautiful, almost like a Central European town.

Hi @steemswede, I heard also that Kiev is an interesting place to visit. I did not have the chance yet, but in the future it would be nice to check this restaurant in person, not only in an image. But till then, thanks for taking the time to share it.

Kiev definitely makes it to the top 5 of favorite cities, don't hesitate!

interesting i guess the food will be very delicious..you didnt invite me?..lol

Next time, Tony! :D

Happy to connect with another Swedish steamer :) Looking forward to see more from you :)

Likewise Nicole! Keep spreading the word about Steemit!

Haha love the name "Black Piglet" 😍 Never been in Kiev but I am planning a eastern European trip this summer with my girlfriend and we have Ukraine among our top choices as of now, would you recommend to visit the country overall??

Are you fellow Swedish brother by any chance? Referring to the name.

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around! :)

I'm a Swede indeed :)
I've only been to Kiev so far, but I've heard that Odessa is very nice as well, especially during spring and summer. I fell in love with Kiev and the Ukranian people pretty much instantly, so I'll go back next spring. Happy travels!

Very delicious! You can see that in that place they prepare delicious plates of food! I hope you have a good appetite. Greetings from Venezuela

I was there in 1986... nothing like this back then. Looks like a great winter meal!

In Kiev or at the Black Piglet restaurant you mean?

I was in Kiev and no "Black Piglet" in Soviet times just a lot of Chicken Kiev!

Hi, i just noticed a mistake in Kyiv, decided to let you know. Here is why: http://www.businessinsider.com/kiev-or-kyiv-2014-1

Gathering information about UberEats on the internet is a common practice for those looking to order food conveniently. When it comes to platforms like Eatagram, they can serve as a valuable resource for understanding and navigating the world of UberEats. Eatagram can be a hub for users to share their experiences, food open reviews, and insights related to UberEats, offering valuable tips and recommendations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49