This is the South Island of New Zealand, or Te Waipounamu (in Maori)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

fullsizeoutput_bec.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_11ee.jpeg

Well, I am almost embarrassed to say that it took me this long to get off my bum and fly across the ditch to see some of the most scenic places I have ever seen.

Lattitude: 43.5321° S
Longitude: 172.6362° E

History

In another doubtful history, it is debated whether the Moriori (Melanesian) or the Polynesians are the first settlers of what we now call New Zealand. I think from my reading that it is agreed that they are both the ancestors of the Maori people, and it is thought that they have been there since 1200 and 1300 AD. They discovered New Zealand whilst exploring the Pacific by navigating ocean currents with the help of the stars. Just to throw a spanner in the works, there is also talk that the Celts were there before all this! Who knows, but it sounds a lot like everyone wanted to claim to have discovered New Zealand, and after visiting it, I think I can understand….

The first of the European’s was Able Tasman, the Dutch explorer. This is how New Zealand got its dutch sounding name, it was back then named Nieuw Zeeland. Next came the biggest bully of them all, Captain James Cook. It was a lazy 127 years after Abel Tasman, that he made the first of his three voyages to claim their land. I would have liked to be a fly on the back of one of those Maori’s as they kicked up quite a stink.

The Europeans were met with a fair amount of butt-kicking as the Maori people stood up for themselves protecting their land. The Maori people were not to be messed with, they were fierce warriors, that is a fact, and they fought the Europeans tooth and nail. A lot of blood was spilled until the treaty of Waitangi in 1840 as Britain claimed New Zealand as a colony.

February 6th is a National day for New Zealanders, but not celebrated by the Maori or the other people, it is just a National holiday. Just as Australia Day is not celebrated by the aboriginals (Ironically it is Australia Day, as I write this today. Whilst I like the holiday, I don’t think it is apt to celebrate what we stole). I don’t want to get into the semantics (once again), but rather show you what I saw in this gorgeous southern part of what we call the South Island of New Zealand.

The first people in New Zealand

A brief history of New Zealand

The Moriori people

These are my photographs and my observations from my trip

I was truly gobsmacked by how much this very small country, (and only half of it at that), has to offer. If you want scenery, it is around every winding corner of this amazing land.

I truly couldn’t believe how absolutely picturesque and breathtaking their landscape is. While all of that is just so divine, it is the people who really blew my mind. I have always loved New Zealanders, and have quite a few of them that I am proud to call my friends. I suppose that is what interested me in seeing their great land.

I am from Australia and we live side by side a plethora of our CUZZY's in our enormous land. Their personalities and lifestyles are so compatible with ours, but I think they do tourism like no other country I have ever visited (and that has been quite a few).

Everything is geared to the traveler, including their attitudes and pride in their land. There is just such a helpful old school way, that is so sadly lacking in the world we see today. It was the most refreshing thing to experience, in a world that has gone sadly selfish and greedy and 'all about me'. So hats off to my New Zealand friends, you have such a right to be proud. You have a sustained a healthy, helpful and humorous attitude that the rest of the world (including Australia) would be wise to learn a thing or two from. There is an innocence, and a simpleness to their way of life, that encompasses a respect that is sadly lacking in this world today.

I was standing in line, in the tiny little supermarket in Fairly, when the check-out chick who had been serving an elderly lady excused her self and said she would just be a minute. She came out from behind the counter, and picked up the senior lady's bags and walked her to her car. She packed her bags into the back of the car, and she stopped to have a little chat and made sure the lady was buckled in properly. She waved her off, and returned to say 'sorry about that'. I said don't be sorry, I think that is just great. I haven't seen that sort of thing since I was five. She laughed and said, oh that is just what we are like. That is what I experienced the whole time I was there, that is exactly what these people are like. They have time for each other, and they are kind and totally old school. It really made an impact on me, so much so I would love to live there, even though where I live is divine.

So come with me and I will show you what there is to do and see.

The first thing I saw from the airport (at some ridiculously rude hour of the morning) when we landed in Christchurch, was an epic sunrise where the colours blew my mind. I knew this was going to be unbelievable even from before we were picked up and taken to our awaiting campervan.

IMG_3698.JPG
This is a the photograph from within the airport

You can ‘do’ New Zealand any way you like, but I couldn’t recommend more highly the camper as an option. It gave us such great independence and ability to be a bit ‘fly by the seat of your pants’ about it. We used Britz and they were totally accommodating and professional. I would highly recommend them, they have an assortment of campers to choose from for any kind of budget you have planned.

We drove from Christchurch and headed toward Tekapo. My traveling partner has traveled to NZ a fair few times and was an exceptional personal guide who took me to some brilliant places. A fishing holiday was our whole theme, but we did go to several places where fishing was not the priority. On to Tekapo, and lots of other places that I will note in the photos below.

Tekapo

fullsizeoutput_12b3.jpeg
A photograph of me taking a photo of Lake Tekapo and Mt Cook

On we went to our first (and frequent fishing destination) just out of the gorgeous town of Twizel, in a place called Glenbrook, Canterberry. These next photos are taken just outside the campervan, while an epic fishing adventure took place.

Twizel - Glenbrook

fullsizeoutput_11c1.jpeg
Glenbrook, Canterberry

fullsizeoutput_11ec.jpeg
Glenbrook, Canterberry

fullsizeoutput_bab.jpeg
Glenbrook, Canterberry

Otago

fullsizeoutput_1219.jpeg
The Neck, Otago. Makoarora - Lake Hawea Rd.

The West Coast

fullsizeoutput_1223.jpeg
Cheviot Rest Recreational Reserve WEST COAST

fullsizeoutput_11b5.jpeg
Cheviot Rest Recreational Reserve WEST COAST

fullsizeoutput_11d0.jpeg
Cheviot Rest Recreational Reserve WEST COAST

fullsizeoutput_174a.jpeg
Cheviot Rest Recreational Reserve WEST COAST

The West Coast was such a highlight of the trip for me, I don't think I have ever seen a seal this close up before. I had only wished I was videoing, as a jogger came around the corner on his run, and the seal could feel the vibration of him coming, and was up to warn him off! The two of them surprised as each other, t'was a memory not captured digitally but mentally... I hope I don't forget!

fullsizeoutput_bed.jpeg
Cheviot Rest Recreational Reserve WEST COAST

fullsizeoutput_1218.jpeg
Cheviot Rest Recreational Reserve WEST COAST

Haast Beach

What a beautiful sunset we experienced at Haast beach, the light was so perfect. We did a little photoshoot there, and these pictures are some of my favourite ensuring that I wont forget. Even as the sun came down, I was captivated by such an impressive pallet of colourful light. We sipped some local wine, and then pressed on to our campsight.

fullsizeoutput_120f.jpeg
Haast Beach (Te Wahipounamu, Mt Aspiring NationalPark)

fullsizeoutput_123a.jpeg
Haast Beach (Te Wahipounamu, Mt Aspiring NationalPark)

fullsizeoutput_1743.jpeg
Haast Beach (Te Wahipounamu, Mt Aspiring NationalPark)

IMG_4426.JPG
Haast Beach (Te Wahipounamu, Mt Aspiring NationalPark)

Hokitika

This is Hokitika, home of the Greenstone, where you can scour the beach and look for washed up treasures. I was to busy snapping to find any, but the boys found plenty. I was happy with my shots, however. I hold the memories of what they found.

fullsizeoutput_b77.jpeg
Hokitika

fullsizeoutput_11ce.jpeg
Hokitika

Back to Twizel - Glenbrook

Then back we went to Glenbrook, just outside Twizel, which is a gorgeous little town. We out fished the local fisherman, and these two young boys made quite a few men jealous with their angling prowess. There were some very dramatic moments, after long struggles and tireless fights to bring these rainbow's in. There were definitely tears, as they snapped the lines, but hell, to catch a trout that size on 4-pound line, is really quite incredible. The Rainbow trout, pictured below is only an 18 pounder! We caught up to 35 pounders, and quite a few!

fullsizeoutput_174b.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_10dc.jpeg

IMG_3729.JPG

fullsizeoutput_1211.jpeg

So that is my photography for you on the wondrous place that is the South Island of New Zealand

I have to go back, to see the friends I met, and keep on exploring this gobsmackingly gorgeous country because there is HEAPS I didn't have time to see.

Whilst we were on a fishing trip as the trout and salmon are aplenty, and the country is so fish-rich, there are many other things to do and see there.

Tekapo, for example, has the 'southern lights', or 'Aurora Australis' and many astronomers or stargazer's find New Zealand to have some brilliant spots to see it. They are very dedicated to it in Tekapo that's for sure, with very strict lighting rules applied all over town.

Southern Lights, or Aroura Australis

They also have some amazing ski fields in New Zealand, Queenstown is the preferred spot for the Americans and Canadians, with its busy hum and lights. While Tekapo is what the Europeans prefer, more sedate and low key. There were amazing construction developments going on while I was there. So don't forget to put them on your future skiing holiday adventure list.

Skiing in New Zealand

New Zealand is also home to some very fine wines, the Marlborough district has quite a few drops I like. Unfortunately for me, we couldn't get there due to closed roads from an earthquake two years ago. On top of the wine, they are a country that grows some of the richest of food platters. With farming and growing conditions some of the best in the world. We tried the local venison and wow, was it nice!

Wine Wine Wine

Food Food Food

Some idiot Australian bloke introduced the possum there as well, which is now in plague proportions. So they actually make wool from possums fur. If you are into knitting or want quality woolen products then New Zealand offers some of the best wool you have ever seen, with Marino sheep products everywhere you go.

Wool Wool Wool

So why not go fishing or skiing or watch the southern lights, after having your fill of gorgeous food and getting a little tipsy on the local wine (whilst wearing your wooly jumper with your possum gloves on of course!) It could be considered rude not to really!

I hope I have inspired you to go and visit this place. Please take your best manners and friendly attitude with you, as we don’t want to corrupt what is one the last places on earth where manners and respect is just part of their way of life.

Feel free to look at my other post on #traveldigest or @steemitworldmap as well

The one and only Hamilton Island

Follow me @steemsausage


APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord

Sort:  

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

This was another really amazing post! Keep it up! As a member of @ocd, I would love to nominate this post! Just let me know here, if you'd accept that!

Ohhh yes please, it would an honour I would gratefully accept! Lovely to wake up this morning to this comment! Thank you very much! @ocd @steemitworldmap and #traveldigest

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=steemsausage
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=this-is-the-south-island-of-new-zealand-or-te-waipounamu-in-maori


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Fantastic scenery, fantastic photography, fantastic fish! I'm just a little bit jealous of your travels there!

ohhh i have so many more fish from the adventure, but there only so many that one should post!!

Hehehehe its another GOLDEN-CURIE POST!

thanks kettle, but again, only if its good enough!

Wow your now part of OCD!, thats what acidyo is featuring! he created by the way.

Wow, I'm pretty chuffed!

New Zealand looks exquisite! Such beautiful views!!

Exquisite is the word @goldendawne, such a magnificent country!

WOW!!! I WANT TO GO THERE!! I really like the one photo where you are taking a photo of Lake Tekapo and Mt Cook!

That is just before the moment that the wind blew up and knocked over my tripod smashing my cannon 😥 it is one of my favourite photos and one of the only ones with me in it!! @kimmecfields

Oh yea, you killed it again. It's so awesome how you have all the imagery and tell the story around it. You may have inspired me to do one of the harbor where I live. Pretty cool. :)

Why thank you @inalittlewhile, i am just a little disapointed that my steemitblogger thing wouldnt work, but i just had to get it out there. I will speak with @zord and find out why!!

These photos are so great! I have always dreamed of visiting New Zealand, it is definitely on my bucket list. I follow a guy who posts fly fishing videos from there!

‘Tis definitely bucket list material @papacrusher! There is just so much to see and do!

Beautiful photos. I did a "make it up as you go along" trip to New Zealand a number of years, mostly the South Island. Your pics brought back some very happy memories!

I’m so glad it brought back memories! What a country and what people! @gillianpearce! I must get to the north as well!

We did NZ almost 2 years ago now (OZ too), staying in caravan parks mostly, but wanted to go back this year in a caravan. Unfortunately we are a bit older than you and health issues have curtailed our plans - maybe next year. We've never caravaned so I may have to ask you for tips on how to do it! You can find my NZ posts on worldmap, may give you some ideas for your next trip. Following you.

Wow, thanks so much for your comments, am happy to help you anyway I can! I couldn’t recommend the camper- van more highly! Brilliant way to see NZ again. The politeness in their driving style and tolerance for camper crazy roads is amazing too.. I will be going back for sure! I will check your posts out too! Thanks for stopping by my post!!

I actually found NZ drivers a bit more aggressive than in OZ. An acquaintance had warned us about OZ driving but we later discovered she 'warns' people about everything - I found the motorways very relaxing compared to ours in Canada, where everyone drives well over the limit and many tailgate and/or pass on the wrong side. Getting through Sydney on the other hand was a bit of a challenge!

Whoa !! I’m hearing you! Sydney is mad!! I haven’t driven in Canada ... yet! @brightongreg

In Sydney I thought I was turning into a merge lane, not, stopped just in time to avoid a heavy goods lorry ending our trip! If you ever come this way contact me for advice - like Oz a very big country, lots to see, but you have to be selective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12