Toronto’s Esplanade & St. Lawrence Market areasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Steemit-Foodie (me) loves hanging out at Toronto’s Esplanade & St. Lawrence Market area. The food scene in this neighbourhood, along the Esplanade/Front is quite diverse. There are many great restaurants that serve up different types of ethnic cuisines. On top of that, the St. Lawrence Market offers foodies a great deal of choices whether you are shopping for groceries or getting food to eat.

My favourite activity is to either grab a coffee and head for a stroll, or order take out and sit at the park to appreciate the stunning architecture, art and public space this area has to offer.

I would highly recommend the following hidden gems if you ever visit the area:

Hidden Banksy

Banksy is the world's most famous graffiti artiest. I love that his works always play on dark humour and political critique. I discovered him a few years ago while watching the news. Shortly after that, I started my hunt for his work in Canada. My research had led me to the Esplanade area behind a restaurant. I swear I walked by this corner often, but I had no idea that I was passing by something truly special - a piece of street art by this world-famous artist.

Here is a photo of this original Banksy art taken when I was out for a coffee stroll recently. It is now part of a patio at the back of the restaurant Goose Island Brewhouse.
IMG_20170910_152302.jpg

The Berczy Park

This park recently got a facelift and they now have a giant dog fountain. This park is right behind the Flat Iron Building and it is so lively. I love eating a snack while sitting at this park, people watch or appreciate the stunning architecture in the background.

Here is a photo of the park taken while I was out for a snack recently. It was so much fun watching people, kids and dogs in the park (Funny, kids are people too. I wonder why I mentioned them separately from people, lol!)
IMG_20170910_150958.jpg

The St. Lawrence Market

This market is truly a heaven for grocery shoppers as the shops carry many fresh fruits, vegetable and many other grocery items. I particularly love the produce section. Just look at all the good stuff they offer?!
IMG_20170830_122630.jpg
IMG_20170830_122829.jpg
IMG_20170830_122140.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post and might considering visiting while you are in the area!

Sort:  

Banksy and Zucchini, St. Lawrence market truly has it all 😄 If you haven't yet, check out the movie 'Exit through the gift shop' You may enjoy it.

as always great post and great topic

Mmmmh its your choice

I was very interested. Good photos and post, well written everything :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55