Another Independent Coffee shop that steals my heart - Toronto's Rooster Coffee House

in #travel7 years ago

For coffee lovers, like myself, many of us would much prefer a quaint coffee shop in a big city surrounded by big chain coffee houses.

Personally, I love coffee shops that offers coffee with real taste and independent character. Having great selection of pastry and snacks as well as a cozy and attractive decor certainly add to the whole coffee experience and make it worthwhile to visit.

I do understand that coffee taste is a very personal matter and I completely respect that! I had heard some coffee drinkers much prefer McDonald's improved coffee offered under their McCafe brand.

However, I still prefer to support independent coffee shops as I believe it is better for the local economy and for consumers to have alternatives.

Not only does it encourage the existence of small businesses (which ultimately boosts local economy), it also allows consumers to have more choices, which translate into a much healthier coffee community with no monopoly. It's definitely a win-win situation.

I also love the idea of creating a level playing field where the market is big enough for all participants to benefit from.

In the city of Toronto where coffee culture is strong, there are a number of independent coffee shops that steal my heart. One of them is Rooster Coffee House.

Just for fun, thought I would include a picture of a rooster :p

(Source: Pexels.com)

In my opinion, they offer good quality coffee, tasty pastries, cookies and treats. In addition, I absolutely adore their modern wood furnishings and the Bohemian aesthetic touches. Their interesting signs throughout the shop are also super fun!

IMG_20160328_113715.jpg

IMG_20160328_113744.jpg

IMG_20160328_113927.jpg

There are two floors at this coffee shop, the ground floor mostly with tables and stools; the second floor has a couch for larger groups, overlooking the main floor of the shop. The staff are extremely friendly and chill, hence creating a friendly environment for everyone to do whatever they want, whether to do some work, or to chill with friends.

IMG_20160328_113957.jpg

IMG_20160328_122453.jpg

In addition, their staff take pride in making coffee and I could tell from the way they serve their customers and the quality of their drinks. Seriously, I have a lot of respect for people who are passionate about their work/trade.

IMG_20160328_113658.jpg

Here are photos of my very own spot at the Rooster Coffee House with my own couch, table and lighting. Seriously, how cute is that?! It is at the bottom of the staircase and offers some much needed privacy.

IMG_20160328_121649.jpg

IMG_20160328_114237.jpg

IMG_20160328_114120.jpg

This coffee shop is definitely a great spot as it is tucked in a quiet corner, only a couple of blocks away from the city's busy and nosy intersection. A perfect spot to escape the busy reality for a moment!

The only thing I dislike about this coffee shop is that they don't have more locations. Well, I am aware that I am just being difficult, lol (^_-)

In summary, quality is what I have come to expect from Rooster. They are consistently producing great drinks, staff are welcoming and friendly and the cafe itself is beautifully laid out and tastefully decorated. All in all, a great coffee shop in a cool, urban setting.

Sort:  

lol @brian-rhodes and I meet at this exact coffee shop on a regular basis. It's a great spot, awesome coffee and the staff are great!

Great to know that you also like this spot @dan-atstarlite - So cool to find someone on Steemit who knows all the great spots in Toronto!

Hey @jaybird - have you been to Rooster Coffee on Jarvis?! Looks like a few Torontonian here on Steemit love this spot.

cool to see you write about toronto coffee spots on steemit as i don't see that many torontoian on steemit

Ha - I was just commenting on another comment from another Torontonian who knows this great spot. Very very Cool!

great review of a local coffee spot.

Indeed - a good local coffee spot is hard to find sometimes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29