Ferrying to the World Hidden from the Usual Tourists - Ahvenanmeri - Ålands hav - the Sea of Åland

in #travel8 years ago

An unplanned trip to the Sea of Åland - where really few have ever been. A ferry to a fourty kilometer long isle where time has stopped. This was when I realized that a week in the capital didn't vest me the power of claimimg I have been to Sweden. I have not. Until today.

This very adventure was really UNPLANNED as the day was originally devoted to a journey to another place, but... I overslept the time of departure. And instead of staying at home and feel sorrow for what had happened I decided to take a bus to a harbour called Öregrund. Well, why not? I knew nothing about the place but for that it was a harbour. And so I thought Ok, there must be sea which means that it will be fun. And it was. I am deprived of sea water for 97% of my life and that's a great pleasure for me simply to breath in the salty air. 

I wonder if there's a harbour quieter than this one. And I was here alone. I was accompanied be something more than a human: that was nature, that was the sea, that was a nice book and some great music for the bus trip. To tell the truth, I was a bit frustrated in the very beginning of the trip (you know, lost money and which is still more important, lost experience), but when I noticed an island and a ferry to it the whole world turned upright. 

And so I stepped on the forgotten path meant for hikers and dropped it after a couple hundreds metres - the path was overgrown and that was quite difficult to climb over the fallen trees with a heavy sack behind. And so I just went. To the other end of a fourty kilometer long island.
I don't really want to comment on the photos below as they speak for themselves: that's a perfect place to hide from the torrent of awful news flowing from the mass media as the time stops here. No elections in the USA, to drug scandals, no terror attacks - nothing. Sometimes I feel jealous for people who don't follow the news.

Wanna know my opinion? If you've been to the capital of some country, you haven't been to the country. Venture, choose new ways and explore - that's the best way to feel full.

Good luck!
Anastasia

Sort:  

You got some nice compositions going on there in the photos! I enjoyed very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39