Palm Springs, CA

in #travel6 years ago

Palm Springs Aerial Tramway is the worlds largest rotating tramcar. This ride certainly gets the pucker factor because it starts in the desert and you will see just how crazy steep it gets before you get off at snow level.

IMG_1796.jpg

IMG_1797.jpg
Very steep, but stunning views! This vertical cable car also spins around.
BeFunky-collage.jpg
Once we were at the top, I asked an attendant if he had experienced an earthquake up top as the San Andreas Fault line is right there. The answer was YES, with big eyes and a nod of his head.
IMG_1811.jpg

IMG_1812.jpg

We did go down into the 2 fault lines but for some reason, my photos didn't take. This is part of the "Thousand Palms Oasis".
The tectonic plates are always rubbing which in this area causes the spring water to rise to the surface. So these palms are directly on the 2 plates.

IMG_1818.jpg

IMG_1819.jpg
Shown here (photo below) is the spring water that is brought to the surface. When you cross the bridge over the water, you are on the other tectonic plate. The 2 plates are the North American Plate, and the Pacific Plate.
IMG_1820.jpg

These are my own photos

I hope you enjoyed my post because I enjoyed making it.

rsz_all_pics_off_lanas_iphone_1285_2.jpgFollow me...

Sort:  

Those palm trees look amazing! What kind are they? They're so photogenic! Nice shot of them all standing together, too at the "oasis." You must like cable cars :-)

Where I lived in Spain had only one native palm, which was almost more of a shrub, but they imported some African varieties for touristy areas...

lol, yes I do like cable cars. Everywhere we go I take the subway and cable cars, the more people the merrier! :)

I'm not sure what type of palm trees those were, but I was told they are indigenous to the area. I agree they are photogenic now that you mention it :)

hi.. beautiful place.. the view is amazing...

Wow I love huge landscapes and this looks like a perfect place to just sit back and take shots, must say I'm jealous 😀

I enjoyed the post, keep it up 👍

You got a 100.00% upvote from @gug711

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49