Snowboarding in the Alpes (GoPro footage!)

in #travel7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians. It’s been a while since my last post.

Normally I post in the weekends, but last weekend I was out of town. Same for upcoming weekend, so that is the reason why I’m sharing a blog with you today. Else you will al forget about me before I’m even known… Enough gibberish, right.. on with the story.

Last post I shared some GoPro footage and it worked out pretty well I think. So I was thinking, what better suits some more GoPro footage then some snowboarding right?

I go snowboarding every year for at least a week. Destinations vary sometimes, but last 15 years always Austria. Before Austria I used to go to Switzerland with my family, but we kind of outgrew that area since it is not very wide (as in kilometers to ski).

The last few years I visited Zillertal (Gerlos, Königsleiten etc.), Arlerg (Sankt Anton, Lech etc.). and Saalbach (Hinterglem, Leogang etc.). If you’re talking about quality places to ski in Austria, these will definitely suffice. Some facts:

  • Zillertal: 143 kilometers, highest point 2500 meters.
  • Arlberg: 305 kilometers, highest point 2811 meters.
  • Saalbach: 270 kilometers: highest point 2.100 meters.

Although Saalbach is not that high as the others, there is almost every year enough snow to play with.

Imagine high peaks covered with powder and good beer and food. Enough advertising... let me show you what I mean, so you can decide for yourself:

P1010366.JPG

Wintersport2016.00_06_05_05.Still001.jpg

What I personally like about snowboarding is, the whole day your busy doing stuff outside. And at the end of day you settle down with each other, enjoying a nice beer. I love the mountains and certainly don’t mind the cold weather. The best conditions are of course cold sunny weather with blue skies, called Kaiserwetter in Austria, something like this:

DSCN4413.JPG
Blue skies above the clouds

All right, let's go back a bit. What I originally wanted to show you was some GoPro footage that I shot last year. So this is me keeping my word:

Wintersport LSD_FULL_v3_Sub_06.gif
Wintersport LSD_FULL_v3_Sub_02.gif
Getting some new perspective..

Personally I'm not a fan of going downhill like a maniac and just join the queue again. I love to play around on the slopes a bit. Of course it is not always with a happy end =)

Wintersport LSD_FULL_v3_Sub_10.gif
auch!

Some footage of my friends!

Wintersport LSD_FULL_v3_Sub_09.gif

Austria is a popular winter destination for people from the Netherlands, like me. By car we can be there in 9-10 hours and a lot of ski regions have very good snowing conditions. Not to mention the quality of the ski lifts (honestly don’t know the English word here, plain it would be ski elevator but that surely doesn’t sound right…), is very high tech in Austria.

Other popular destinations are south of Germany, Switzerland, France or Italy. But in my opinion Austria has the best vibe.

Are there any snowboarders out here who visited one of these countries? Would love to see some footage that is out there.

Closing this story with some snowy winter shot:

Wintersport2017Full_Sub_02.gif

Hope you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me and/or upvote my work. Till next time!

If you are interested in reading any of my previous post:

!steemitworldmap 47.129634599999996 lat 10.268178599999999 long Sankt Anton am Arlberg d3scr

Sort:  

You've got some gorgeous photos and video here. This is a great post. Well done.

Thank you for your kind words!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Also 'ski lift' is the English word you are looking for.

Thanks twice!

I have been to few places in Austria, but Zillertal Arena is the best! It was snowing the day before I went there and then it was sunny... just like a dream :)

Haha sounds like some pretty good conditions. It's a great region. Gerlos can be quite crowded, personally I like the slopes in Königsleiten, they're pretty wide so enough space ;)

I will check it out :)

Awesome footage, man! I wish I could snowboard like that. Last year, I fell so many times that I got bruises all over my body :D

Practice makes perfect haha. But must say also, some boards are way more forgiving than others.

That's true :) I recently bought a Nitro that is much softer than the boards that I've ridden before, so we'll see if that's gonna have a positive influence :P

Cool, which one from Nitro? I really like Lib Tech and I bought another board last year, a Lobster jib board Really nice one to play around with.

It's the Stance wide :) I was looking at Lib Tech too but they were a lot more expensive

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=steef-05
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=snowboarding-in-the-alpes-gopro-footage


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54