Vietnam: North to South in 21 days!

in #travel6 years ago

One of my favourite holidays was Vietnam! I explored Vietnam from North to South in 21 days, and the tour was organized by an agency called Intrepid. There were 20 of us, hailing from England, Ireland, US and Australia.

Vietnam is a beautiful country and I would highly recommend it if you haven’t been! I’ve been around South East Asia before and I wasn’t expecting Vietnam to be so nice, but I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, picturesque and friendly the locals were. I will definitely be visiting Vietnam again.

Here are some pics from my Journey!

Hanoi

We landed in Hanoi and on the first day, we headed out to the centre to see the red Huc Bridge over Hoan Kiem lake. The bridge leads to a temple. We spent some time walking around the lake and marveling at all the wedding pictures that were taking place.

DSC_0040.JPG

Vietnam wouldn’t be Vietnam without all the mopeds/scooters. I was amazed at the waves of bikes that were riding past.

DSC_0095.JPG
We explored the city, had some traditional Pho soup and then went to sleep early.

Halong Bay

The next day, we headed off for Halong Bay. Halong Bay is beautiful and sometimes referred to the "8th wonder of the world”, it sure is picturesque!

This picture doesn’t do it justice.

I took more pictures but unfortunately, the day was quite overcast and we even had a bit of rain! The highlight of the day though was canoeing in the caves while getting rained on, but the rain was warm! Unlike anything I’ve experienced in Europe. :)

DSC_0128.JPG

Hoi an

Then onto Hoi an! This was my favourite part of the tour as the city had a great vibe and there were signs of Chinese architecture throughout. The highlight of this was celebrating Chinese New Year with our tour group, eating amazing food and setting fire to our Chinese lanterns!

DSC_0446.JPG

We also had a random bbq on a deserted island. We started with a boat trip, caught some fish and then docked on the island before creating a BBQ. Instead of aluminium foil, they use banana leaf! It was so tasty!

DSC_0544.JPG

Nha Trang

We arrived at Nha Trang and did nothing for a couple of days. The beach was beautiful! We also had a spa day where we visited some mud baths.

This was nice but it felt very touristy and what i didn't like was that almost every shop had signs written in Russian. I guess it's a hot tourist destination for Russians! It didn't have the same charm as the other cities that we had visited but still a great holiday destination if all you want to do is relax on the beach and soak up the sun!

DSC_0667.JPG

Saigon / Ho Chi Minh city

Final destination was Ho Chi Minh city. This is the working hub and IT hub of Vietnam. It was much warmer here in the South compared to the North, almost Tropical weather! The pineapples and Coconuts tasted amazing, and I guess it has a lot to do with the Climate :)

We also went to Chu Chi tunnels, where the Vietnamese fought the US and we saw a complex network of tunnels that the Vietnamese had built to evade attacks and use the element of surprise to gain a competitive edge. It was amazing how tiny these tunnels were, check this out!

DSC_0879.JPG

DSC_0883.JPG

As I don't want to end this post on the Vietnamese war, here are some random snaps that I took along the way!

Fresh coconut water

DSC_0066.JPG

Vietnamese coffee

This is made from coffee beans that were pooped out by weasels! Yes, strange.. but apparently, they find the best coffee beans and they don't digest them properly so they can be foraged from the remains of the weasel poop. It's a very rich & tasty coffee, and you definitely have to try this once!

DSC_0081.JPG

Tasty Food!

DSC_0678.JPG

The highlight of Vietnam for me was the food. So much flavour and full of garlic, chilli and onions. The food was light and non-greasy, which meant that you could just keep eating and eating! :)

DSC_0063.JPG

And that's all folks! Vietnam stole my heart and I will definitely be coming back here to visit!

Sort:  

Love the photos. I'd really like to visit Vietnam some day

Yes, me too. I almost got there but got stuck in horrible Bangkok traffic and missed my flight to Vietnam :( Next time! Thanks for taking us with you on your beautiful journey, soul-thru-da-ink!

You should definitely go! Vietnam is beautiful but and the food is just heaven. I am Vietnamese but I grew up in The Netherlands and I always miss the food the most! I just blogged about my 4 fav must eats when in Vietnam, you should check it out :).

Vietnam is a magical place like Never Never Land.

Thanks! Hope you get to Vietnam soon! :)

Wow tour really useful .. Many information
Beautiful . Good for you .. well done
Thank you for sharing with us your adventure‏

Thanks for your efforts

The coffee looks so strong . Was it ?

It's a black coffee and has a very rich/nutty taste. However, the vietnamese coffee is typically served with condensed milk which makes it sweeter. it's a nice combination but i try to avoid the condensed milk with my daily coffee, as i want to cut down on the sugar.

Thanks , i didnt hear of condensed milk coffee . Will sure need to check out once . But i hate condensed milk too . I usually run with zero sugar in all types of coffee. Thanks mate

Amazing dear @soul-thru-da-ink

Vietnam is highly recommended place to visit

Damn this is quite the trip!

chinelo do brazil

woow amazing and very beautiful country. I am impressed by your trip. I'm waiting for more photos.

yeah man its really inmpressive photography

Vietnam is amazing! Especially the food! You should definitely go! I am Vietnamese but I grew up in The Netherlands and I always miss the food the most! I just blogged about my 4 fav must eats when in Vietnam, maybe that will help you pick the right food when you're there :).

The food is really mediocre but the best food is the Moroccan food I will give you some of the meals and welcome to everyone in Morocco


Moroccan food is great too.

There is plenty of good Moroccan food across Europe. This post wasn't about Morocco. Feel free to make your own post though.

@dlugiii - Right! I heard that Vietnam it's amazing ;)

Thank you!

Waouh nice post! was in Vietnam too for 20 days last month, and we did Ho Chi Minh, Hoi an and Hanoi (with the Halong Bay too) and Hoi an was definitively the best destination for me!! Did you buy a dress made-to-measure there ? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97