Day 9

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemiters,

This day was the first time I ever visited Tel Aviv. I fell in love with the city instantly. I never realize how much we walked until I looked back at the map. 8 hours of wonderLOST and 18+ Kilometers. I hadn't walked that much in years. So it was a huge milestone for me at the time.

Day 9

March 14, 2017

Today, Maria and I took a bus to Tel Aviv and spend the whole day in the city. We walked all thru the streets from corner to corner.

We started walking in an area called Jaffa. Jaffa is full of antiques and second-hand shops. Jaffa, is still considered Tel Aviv but it's almost like another city. I started to hear more Arabic and less Hebrew. The area looked very different from Tel Aviv city center which was just a few blocks away.

As we walked thru the shops, some shop owners started to approach me to ask me to go to their shops. If I touched something they would tell me it was very cheap. The price started very high and the further I got away from the shop the lower the price got, it was kind of funny. I end up buying some traditional pants for about 10 dollars.

After Jaffa, we walked thru the shore of the beaches. As we walked by the shore, I saw a lot of Arab woman wearing hijabs and abayas inside the water. Because of their religion, they are not allowed to show a big part of their bodies, so they just go into the water covering most of their bodies. (That was new for me to see.)

There is a green mosque close to the end of the last beach in Jaffa. The placement of the mosque is very interesting because is the only religious building behind huge skyscrapers. The contrast between old and modern architecture is a delight to see.

We made our way back thru a popular street called "Rothchild" full of bars and restaurants. Later we walked to a really nice plaza called Sarona Market where we had dinner. Seeing Sarona Market made realize how different Tel Aviv is from Jerusalem. It was close to 7 pm, so we walked back to the bus station to head to Jerusalem.

I loved Tel Aviv, it reminds of a mixture between San Jose, CA and San Fransisco, CA. The people are more modern and you see a lot of modern shops.

LATER THAT DAY:

We arrived at Jerusalem and Maria was dead tired, I honestly have a lot more energy left I could still go out and do more stuff.
WHERE AM I GETTING THIS ENERGY FROM?!>>>> I LOVE IT!

Goodnight life.

Jaffa Flea market shop
IMG_5615.JPG

Tel Aviv
IMG_3020.JPG

Olf Jaffa streets
IMG_6143.JPG

Google Maps Screen Shot of my route.
Screen Shot 2018-08-30 at 2.57.33 PM.png

Sort:  

Come visit Israel everybody this is the best place

I'm back in Israel. I love it here!

nice make sure to share you visit with everyone..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00