You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO TRAVEL AROUND THE WORLD WITHOUT PAYING FOR ACCOMMODATION

in #travel6 years ago

I'm wondering if families do this. I'd love to do this with my kids, but it's a bit of a different deal. We could probably make do with one bed and a couch, but I'd only want to stay with other families. Or maybe grandmas. I've heard about it before, but it's always been single people I've known that did it, and we just haven't been able to travel recently anyway.

Sort:  

Some hosts might be okay to receive a whole family. I have a family of writers, with two children, who were couchsurfing in South America. They have gone from Ohio all the way down to Ecuador within four months. I guess it depends on how much space, availability and willingness the host has.

This is good to hear. I'm going to look more seriously into it now. It would really lessen the time until we start traveling again.

You could look into house swapping, house/pet sitting and home exchange also. They ask for an annual fee but you find places to stay for free.

Awesome. I've wondered how easy it is to do house/pet sitting. You can't do it here in Belize because of work permit laws. They're super strict. I mean, you could probably get away with it, but most people just hire a belizean to avoid the hassle.

It never crossed my mind that you would need a work permit if you are a house/pet sitter. Since you are not getting paid for the service (the payment being you staying on someone's property for free), how could they come after you?

Well, free lodging is considered payment, and essentially they have leeway on whether or not they harass you. Some of them are nice. Others are not. Ass kissing usually helps things go smoother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34