Airport Pariah Smoking Vestibules in Dalian and Shanghai China PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I come from Canada where smoking inside any public building or outdoor space is strictly prohibited including bar patios.

When I first landed in Shanghai after 14 hours coach flight from Toronto the first thing I noticed as I dragged my feet to the luggage claim were these little vestibules for smokers.

Lighters are also provided.

Only because it was the exit hall the room was empty as everyone hurried out as quickly as possible. After 13 hours on a flight getting into the fresh air is a priority, you can smoke there too.

I saw it again in Dalian and Wuhan but i didn't get photos of the Wuhan booths.

The Dalian booth is a lot more modern and cleaner. Though here you are a fish in a fishbowl. This time it's empty because I was one of the first people into the airport that day. My flight was for 7:20am and I arrived 5:50am a full 10 minutes before the airport opened. Quickest check in ever. By 7am it was packed.

No lighters are allowed in Chinese airport or matches so the vestibules all have lighters secured to the wall people can use.

Please use sparingly.

It has a TV showing adds for the very company that made the room. I wonder if the airport got a deal. The "Fresh Air" sign on the top of the TV is rather misleading I must say.



任何时候来投票都行 我所有的票数是100% 倡导可持续发展的未来

More of my life in China
https://steemit.com/food/@solarguy/christmas-eve-dinner-in-dalian-china
https://steemit.com/cats/@solarguy/please-don-t-feed-cats-to-you-dog-lol-nuggatized

Sort:  

Maybe it's to quit!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44