Travel to Korea: Gloomy Autumn (English version)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

*I decided to write the English version of this topic as requested by those who don't understand Filipino.

SAM_2778.JPG

When I booked my flight to Korea, I was expecting it would be autumn by then. I got autumn foliage on my mind mind when I got my Korean VISA. I even prepaid coats and jackets that I can't wear when in Manila because it would be weird in its hot, tropical climate. But the clothes would be perfect for the Korean drama pictorial scene I had in mind.

With Seoul trees starting to change into fiery shade, Jeju is a bit late because it is on south of South Korea. Yeah, redundant much. So if you will go to Jeju, I suggest you travel there around November or December where you can fully enjoy the autumn. Jeju Island is the only place in South Korea that is visa-free for Filipinos. Since there is no direct flight from Manila to Jeju except chartered flights, you have to transit in Hong Kong, Taiwan or Shanghai (as long as you don't leave the airport, that is fine. You need Chinese visa in Shanghai.)

P_20161020_111430.jpg

Since it was my first time in Korea, I really had a great time. I am not used to cold weather but the experience, the food and view was so enjoyable so it didn't bother me at first. Until the pang of depression hit me.

SAM_2702.JPG

I am used to traveling alone. I spend two weeks maximum away from my family as a solo backpacker except my recent trip to Hong Kong and Macau with family. For someone who works at home, my only "me" time is traveling. I don't feel lonely. I can entertain myself and Iove interacting with fellow travelers and local. The only time I got depressed was when I was Singapore. It was my first trip abroad, I was not used to the smell of spices in Little India (I stayed near the market). I am not used to the strong smelled of spices so it really hit me hard and affected my mood. I suddenly miss home then but I recovered right after my I watched my favorite football club Global FC (a Filipino club) qualify for Singapore Cup's semi-finals.

Back to Korea, it is actually a happy place. I love the people even if most of them don't speak English. Aside from my occasional bitterness to sweet lovers around rolls eyes and the fact that there aren't oppas around, I was having a blast.

During my fourth day in Korea, I was walking my way back to my inn from Seopjikoji. It was extremely cold because it was around five in the afternoon and the sun was about to set. The weather was gloomy. After walking from an hour, I decided to stay at the beach with the nice view of Seongsan Ilchulbong. Another "me" time of mine supposedly.

The wind was slapping my face literally with grains of sand in it. Ouch, bes. Then sadness suddenly hit my chest that it made me want to weep. I felt like my boyfriend left me and married another girl. I don't have one, by the way.

Then it hit me. According to Sonia Francesca, a writer friend of mine, many people commit suicide during autumn and winter when the weather is gloomy. Well, I was not suicidal. But the sadness starting to eat me up. I wanna go back to the Philippines where there's sunshine and blue skies. I miss my mom's cooking. I am not used to spicy food and Korean food is mega spicy. I was hungry, cold and alone. I felt like dying. I couldn't explain because I am a happy person. I never though that I would easily succumb to sadness with no reason at all aside from cold weather.

So, I turned on my mobile interent and searched for a nearby cafe. I want something hot. There's none nearby. I walked around and all the restaurants are close. As if they were taunting me. The only option is 7-Eleven. While walking towards the convenience store, I found a Filipino cafe.

P_20161023_171449_BF.jpg

GAAAAAHD!!! I was literally crying when I saw it. It was like coming home. As I entered the cafe, the warm air engulfed by body. Kamsahamnida, heater! The cafe has a Boracay vibe. Boracay is a popular beach island in the Philippines, known for its white, powdery sands that Koreans love so much.

P_20161023_171803_BF.jpg

I AM HOME! So the cure to my homesickness is a place that will make me feel at home. The scent of the ripe mangoes, too expensive though. The chill guitar songs. The lantern hanging above my head. The artsy designs. Very Filipino.

Mango Ray saved me from depression in Jeju Island. I enjoyed a good couple of hours writing while drinking my matcha milk tea feeling like a normal human again. According to the staffs of the cafe, the staffs and the owners are Korean. The owners love Boracay so much that they want to bring the vibe to their own place.

I don't know how other people fight homesickness or depression when far away from home. It was no joke. No matter how strong my personality is, I am no match to the cold weather. Aha! You know my kryptonite now. So for those Filipino in Jeju Island who are homesick, try Mango Ray Cafe near Seopjikoji-ro. I am not sure though if other Mango Ray branches has that Boracay vibe.

When I returned to Jeju with my friends, it was sad that I was not able to visit the cafe. The schedule was hectic. So I had just to wave at the cafe as we pass by. And it was summer, the sun is up and the skies are blueeee so I was in a happy mood.

Tip: It is more fun to have friends or family or your partner with you when you go to Korea on autumn or winter. If you are alone go on a group tour and make friends.

Do you have any experiences during travel that depressed you, frustrated you or made you feel homesick? Share it at the comment section.


Please don't forget to follow me: @sofiaphr. And please don't forget to upvote and upsteem this post. It would really help me a lot as a writer. Kamsahamnidaaa!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72