Visit Victoria: Locale restaurant, Dixons Creek

in #travel7 years ago

Today my friend from Canberra came to visit for the weekend and I took her to Locale restaurant in Dixons Creek, Yarra Valley. I booked the restaurant three weeks in advance because it is so popular. However because my friend's train arrived late we only got to the restaurant at 2.30 pm and most of the tables were empty when our food came. We enjoyed the muscato and cheese platter most. The soft cheese was so soft and creamy. It wasn't too pungent and the sweet jam went very well with the crispy biscuits. I am allergic to walnuts so I could not have them. My friend said they were tasty. The squid ink pasta was good but the portions were not as big as I expected for the price we paid. The service was friendly but the owner's joke fell flat. The location of the restaurant was the highlight --rolling hills dotted with red and pink flowers and rows of grape vines. Well worth a visit if you are planning to come to Melbourne. It is about an hour's drive from the eastern suburbs.


(Rolling hills of Yarra Glen)


(Interesting sculpture)


(Waiting for the grapes to ripen)


(Locale restaurant dining room)


(Squid ink fusilli with spanner crab, zucchini )


(Soft cheese with crispy biscuits, sliced pear, candied walnuts, and fruit jam)

Sort:  

Looks like a pleasant place to dine. I am a guy, and a big eater, and I despise restaurants that charge a premium price for a small portion. But they are worth visiting on certain occasions.

Thanks for sharing!

@countryinspired: I agree. This place is nice for a special occasion. The table behind us was celebrating a grandma's 70th birthday.

Following, by the way :)

Thanks! Followed back @countryinspired

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61399.80
ETH 2987.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42