The Trace of an Eternal Love 3 , Karma with Monk

in #travel7 years ago

20170821 Slowwalker

I had looked around some buildings of the temple.
The most impressive building was a small traditional Korean House.

This house was a place where the one of the great monk passed away.
His name was Beop Jeong.

He was a very famous for his book of spiritual essays.
He had written several books which influenced to many people.
He was a true monk dedicated himself for the eternal truth.

Naturally, Kim Younghan was deeply influenced by him and she made up her mind to donate entire property to him to make a Buddhist Temple.
She had proposed to him when it comes to make the temple. But the Monk Beop Jeong strictly refused her suggestion.

Kim Younghan had never gave up and continued to request him for 10 years. Finally he accepted her donation and the temple was built in 1994. At that time one of her acquaintance asked her whether her donations were too excessive. She answered clearly all my money is less valuable to Baek Seok’s one poem line.

After several years of building the temple, Kim Younghan was dead. Her last word was “fire my body and scattered that ashes in the corner of the temple” After her death, her ashes were scattered in the tempe. The Karma between poet Baek Seok and Kim younghan was ended in this world. There Karma had left the temple “ Ghilsangsa”

Meanwhile, Beop Jeong never had stayed in this temple except 1 day.
The one day way the his last day in his
life in this world.

By the way to the house of Beop Jeong, I saw very impressive door.

I had visited the house where he passed away. The house was located in the very corner of the temple. In front of the house, there a stone gethering for the wishes of people to Beop Jeong’s entering into the Paradise.

The house was small but beautiful and romantic.

You can enjoy a sound of the rainfall.

Now it is a small museum for Beop Jeong. It is not permitted to take the pics.

He had had a lung cancer for long time. He didn’t want to get a surgery. But people forced him to get a surgery. While he was sick, he wanted to die in somewhere nobody knows. He really wanted to live according to his own will. But his disciples didn’t let him die along.

Finally he was sent to the hospital and the very last night he was moved to Ghilsangsa. There he passed away.

I had read all his books. He was my powerful spiritual teacher even though I wasn’t a Buddhist.
My son, he was a teenager at that time, told me that people should have lived like Beop Jeong.

In accordance with his last words, his ashes scattered in the nameless hill where he had lived in his old age. He had entered into the deep mountain to escape from people who wanted to meet him.

With Beop Jeong’s death, all of Kim Younghan’s karma in this world was concluded.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Wow! That is amazing that Beop Jeong stayed here just long enough to see Temple completed. That is an amazing story.

Looks like you and I are on the same schedule. I uploaded my post about 4 seconds after you today.

Interesting journey and pictures.

we become what we think, @slowwalker and our actions determine our fate.

Kim Younghan's love for the poet Baek Seok continued even after his death. She wanted to honor his memory by making a temple that would outlast both their lives.

It is a sad but beautiful story of two lovers who struggled against impossible circumstances and a powerful demonstration of eternal love on Kim Younghan's behalf.

I am reminded of a line from the Latin poet Horace when he looked back on the epic poetry he left behind. He wrote: I have erected a monument more lasting than bronze. I think Kim Younghan did that.

It is also interesting that the monk, Beop Jeong, had little part in their lives. He was merely the recipient of Kim's great gift to Baek and ultimately to the Korean people. He perished after spending only one night in a corner of the temple.

Now, everyone's ashes are scattered and these three actors in the drama are gone, but what remains are the words of Baek Seok , the wisdom of Beop Jeong, and the love of Kim Younghan perpetuated in the temple she built as a memorial to her one great love.

A beautiful story, @slowwalker

I hope the people looking around the temple understand the meaning of the temple

yes,so do I, @slowwalker. But your post helped explain much of the background

Wow beautiful

These people are true incarnations of the God, I wish I could meet him and take his blessings. I will read his books very soon. I am a great lover of buddhist philosophy. Thanx for sharing such rare and most beautiful post about such a great man. I am really very grateful to you.

You know very well about Beobjeong's life, you even tell about him with passion.
I see your post is very good for today.
thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much

You are welcome Slowwalker..
I'm very happy for your response :-)

Buddhism is the most beautiful religion in the world. Thanks for the post! Rate my photo with a Buddhist monk

Great post!

A beautiful portrayal... looks like a wonderful temple too. I am glad he eventually accepted that donation to have it built.

Yes, so we can walk around the temple

It is a heartbreaking story,
He deserves respect. Thank you..

Thank you for reading

I also thank you~~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58