The Entry of Keumsan-sa Temple in Kimjae City, Korea

in #travel6 years ago

I had heard several times about Keumsan-sa temple near Kimjae where Byeokgol-Jae reservoir was located in.

Strangely enough, it was my first time to visit Keumsan-sa temple, even though I have traveled this area for several times before.

As I had posted before, the temples in this area were completely destroyed during the Japanese Invasion 1592 - 1597 AD.
It was not certain when this temple was built at first. But according to the record, the articles on this temple was found in the history of late Baekjae Dynasty.

Unlike other temple, I could drive very near to the temple.
It was hot summer, so it was happy for me not to walk for a long distance.

The first gate I could see was the Geumgang gate.

_6130006.JPG

Here, Geumgang means the Diamond.
In Korean Buddhism, Geumgang seemed having various meaning.
In this case of Geumgang gate, Geumgang statue means strong power protecting Buddha and Buddha’s teaching.

_6130010.JPG

_6130014.JPG

With these two Geumgang statues, there were two children appearances of Bodhisattva.

_6130008.JPG

_6130009.JPG

I don’t know the reason why they arranged Geumgang statues and Bodhisattva statues together in one place.

I have looked around the Geumgang gate in many temples, but I didn’t have any questions on that.

In my guess, they put up those two contradictory characters of statues in same place to make the balance and the harmony between the strong and the weakness, the power and the wisdom.

The reason I guess so is the balance and the harmony seem the core of Buddhist thought in my opinion.

Sort:  

Nice photo impressions of this statues at the entry of the Keumsan Sa Temple, thanks for sharing @slowwalker!

@slowwalker,
Once in a movie I could see this type of gate! But it was at China! I think both countries has the belief of "Geumgang gate". In Sri Lanka, I have never found this gate before! I think it's the guardian of temple and the teaching! Like a castle got it's main gate, these temples are guarded by those powerful spirits!
It's great to see you visit them and made a great article with wonderful photography collection!

Cheers~

Wow..sir @slowwalker ..the Keumsan-sa Temple is awesome..i am very interesting with it's statue. The statue is very unique..
Thank you for sharing.

hopefully we successful always..

Hello @slowwalker, Ha ha glad to listen your first travel to Keumsan-sa temple. We have found only little bit locations in our country like as you. Korea have most impressive another locations you haven't find yet. Geumgang gate has protective style.

Here, Geumgang means the Diamond.
In Korean Buddhism, Geumgang seemed having various meaning.

That's nice to see various meaning of Geumgang. Both of Geumgang statues, showing how to protect Buddha teaching. Both of them got massive try to preserve behind of Buddha lessons in these temple. Nice you found historical and Buddhism culture indeed temple. See ya.... Triple gem bless you.

Oh, I think I've been here before the last time I visited Korea. I believe that I stopped by this temple during my templestay program where we learn about Buddhist values and their traditional practices.

I have upvote you in your post please doo the same for me...

This is beautiful
The temple has got so many works of art, each havng a title that tells a story behind the creation of the work. I know you had lots of fun touring rhe temple and taking photos

Asi que esas Estatuas representan el equilibrio y la armonia, interesante que esos Templos contengan tanto poder del pensamiento Budista de Korea @slowwalker

Geumgang statues and Bodhisattva statues may symbolize that there are good things that are evil, some are strong and some are weak, information that is very interesting to friends, thank you for sharing, I really like pre-history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44