Mom’s Hometown Yangdong Noble Village Near Gyeongju-city

in #travel6 years ago

On the way to Daegu city where my cousin is living, we dropped by Mom’s hometown Yangdong Noble Village in Gyeongju-city..
Yangdong village is very famous for it’s history of traditional noble family in Korea
This village had been originated to the mid of Choson dynasty.
One of the most prominent confucian philosopher and politician was born in this village of his mom’s home town.

With his birth, two noble families had been living in this village.
The name of my mom’s ancestor was Yi Eonjeok.
There were continued prominent scholars after him in my mom’s family.

In Korea, even the nobles could serve in the government after serious test and examination.
Many of mMy mom’s ancestors had passed those examination to be the government officials.

My mom was proud of her own family, even though those traditions were demolished in Korea for a longtime ago.

My mom’s hometown was not far from Pohang city where we had been in 90 years old birthday party.

My mom’s hometown Yangdong village had been enlisted in UNESCO for several years ago.
My mom seemed to be good to look around her hometown.

P4221092.JPG

So we needed to pay for the entrance fee to enter into my mom’s hometown.

P4221090.JPG

P4221110.JPG

P4221111.JPG

The residents were still living in the village.

P4221109.JPG

There was the monument.
Mom stood in front of the monument, and seemed to think about something.

P4221094.JPG

P4221095.JPG

Finally she found one house where she had stayed in the Korean War period.

P4221106.JPG

P4221107.JPG

When breaking up the korean war, mom’s family had lived in Seoul.
My mom’s family escaped from the war and went to their hometown.

But most of my mom’s acquaintances in this village had been passed away.
She just fell into her reminiscence.

At that time, it began to rain. So we hurried to ride to my elder cousin’s apartment.
My elder cousin invited mom to stay in their apartment.
My mom and my cousin’s mom were really close friend when his mom was alive.

I was sorry for the rain.
I promised mom to bring her once more to this village.
I took the pics of this village as soon as I could

P4221121.JPG

P4221114.JPG

P4221116.JPG

Sort:  

This is a traditional village with historic importance. Good to know that this village is one of the world heritage sites. The architecture of houses are really beautiful and there is so much greenery around. Thanks for sharing picture and story ..have a good day..

@kartiksingh I love you at first, my love is the most loved of this post. Your opinion, so I tell you the salute Asakri my opinion will love you so much

This place looks so peaceful and green. Hometown has its own importance and value.

It's a very inspirable and heart touchy article. May all our surrounding will okay.

Your mother's home town being a unesco heritage site was incredible @slowwalker and I am glad that you both with your mom was able to visit it and show the beauty of it in the steemit community.

Exemplary worthless

Your mother is very elegant ... and always curious! Greetings

traditional asian buildings look so cool

Very interesting place...:)...

Do you have to pay because it is listed as a world heritage site? It looks beautiful.

The great look of the city

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42