Visiting The Tsukiji Hongwanji Buddhist Temple In Tokyo | Highlights Of Traveling Japan

in #travel7 years ago

While in Tokyo, we briefly stopped at the Tsukiji Hongwanji Buddhist Temple which is located in the Tsukiji district of Tokyo. Tsukiji Hongwanji  築地本願寺  (also called Tsukiji Hongan-ji) is a Jodo Shinshu Buddhist temple.

The current building was designed by Itō Chūta of the University of Tokyo. wikipedia  It was completed in 1934 although the history of the temple dates back to 1617 (The temple burned down several times and moved location).

The architecture is unique and unlike most Japanese temples. It more closely resembles temples from South Asia.

The inside was interesting and I was able to take a few photos. We observed the Buddhist doing their rituals and listening to a sermon.

Inside

I grabbed a brochure from the temple on the way out. It has some more information on the Tsukiji Hongwanji and Jodo Shinshu Buddhism:


 Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China last May (2017). It was epic! Follow me, @slickwilly and Michelle, @curiouser for posts about our adventures!   

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  I release everything under CC0.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com  
Affiliated Steemit Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz @trueliberty  

My Previous Post 👉 Going To The Top Of The Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building - Highlights Of Traveling Japan

Sort:  

Definitely a different side of Japan than I'm used to seeing in movies. That temple looks incredible! Thanks for sharing...and nice job repping Steemit there!

Why Thank you! I try to wear STEEM apparel whenever I travel.
👉 @bitcoinshirtz

The temple is quite unique, really dated back, I must say you really did a good job with the pictures, nice angles and nice captures, your steemit top is quite lovely.
So you've been in Japan all this while?

Man I loved Japan last year, I wasn't expecting to like Tokyo, just thought it would be another big City but its not. The historical architecture like the above you have photographed is nicely fused with the modern side of Japan. I don't know if you have been already or planning to but I highly recommend Mount Fuji and the surrounding areas.

wow such an surreal place nice travel experiences there thanks for sharing

We'd been to Tsukiji (mostly the market) many times but had not heard of this. The exterior doesn't quite look like a Japanese temple, I think it more resembles a Thai temple.
Thanks for sharing this. Will try to visit it the next time.
Upvoted and followed. Looking forward to more of your Japan experience!
We post all about our Japan travel too. Follow us if you like :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43