Experiencing The Nightlife Of Osaka - Highlights of Traveling Japan

in #travel7 years ago

While we only spent a short time in Osaka, Japan we still got to experience the nightlife and food. Osaka is where we met up with our tour group for our grand journey across Japan and China.

Osaka is actually Japan’s third-largest city, right behind Tokyo and Yokohama. It hosts over 19 million inhabitants. The city is known for its lively nightlife and fascinating street food.

Within these first few pictures you can see the Dotonbori River / Canal that runs through the city.

Here you can see street pictures from the downtown area in Dotonbori.

We ended up going to a nice little restaurant for some delicious Japanese food. What you see here is some tempura vegetables, sushi, and noodles with beef.

The cup of oil had a small candle under it, which we used to cook the noodles and beef.

Along the street we passed a tank with pufferfish ready to be eaten! 

In recent years they have altered the genetics of the pufferfish to make them non-poisonous. Naturally pufferfish contain the lethal substance called tetrodotoxin. It is up to 1,200 times more poisonous than cyanide and there is no cure. 

But people still eat the poisonous ones. You can tell the difference by the price tag. Non-poisonous pufferfish are relatively cheap, whereas the poisonous and "authentic" pufferfish are much more expensive.

Michelle and I recently took a month to travel across Japan and China. It was epic! Follow me @slickwilly and Michelle @curiouser for posts about our adventures!   

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  

Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.

All pictures are my own, taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4. I release everything under CC0 unless otherwise stated.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

Sort:  

I would like to have some Fugu please.

Haha yes!
I should have included that. Fugu is the Japanese word for pufferfish for those who don't know.

People who tried it said it makes the mouth feel numb. So that really is a good dish to have.
Thanks @slickwilly and enjoy your future escapades.

That's really awesome. I especially love the shot of the Fresh Fish :)

I'm not sure that I would be adventurous enough to try the Poisonous Pufferfish .. I value my life more than the skill of the special chefs who are cutting the fish!

One day I hope to take a trip around Japan, China and Asia!

The Dotonbori River looks nice when it's dark. Everything in a city in Japan looks nice when it's dark because of all the neon signs and lights. Thanks for the nice pictures. Looked like you and Michelle had a great time

Beautiful. I like posts about traveling. I plan to travel to Japan early next year to meet my sister-in-law. Enjoy @slickwilly

Thank you! You will love it!

wow buddy so amazing photos, The city looks awesome at night. I hope to visit one day :)

Looks beautifull!

cool and unusual!thanks!

These pics are awesome!
I like the pic with the boat and all the bill board lights reflecting off of the canal , especially.

So do you plan on trying the Fugu? 😏
I read this really strange book sometime ago.
http://sprott.physics.wisc.edu/pickover/sdee-book.html
Chapter one there is s ton on fugu and its psychedelic effects/uses...
I have been curious ever since...

Let us know if you do!

beautiful photos! makes me want to go back to Osaka again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57807.79
ETH 2287.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47