Exploring Sarnia - The Twin Bridges!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

"Smells like burning ass hair, cancer and desperation!" Is how Urban Dictionary describes Sarnia, Ontario. I can't really argue with the whole burning ass hair smell, due to all the chemical plants! They pretty much nailed that definition. It is so easy to point out the flaws in everything including your own hometown. It is a lot harder to find the good! That may be why I hardly blog about the city I was born and raised in. No one wants to hear about a chemical wasteland, was my opinion. It wasn't until I posted Architectural Photography - Twins!, that I realized my city has positivity! Sarnia is not only home to the incredible me, but also to many other wonderful things. I have decided to take you, my followers and friends along with me to see the benefits of Chemical Valley!

image

Now, If you have heard of Sarnia, usually it is because of the Bluewater Bridge! However, the bridge is not actually located in Sarnia. The bridge actually lives in Point Edward, a small neighbour town that everyone considers part of Sarnia anyway. So I decided to start with The Bluewater Bridge, since not only is Sarnia known for it but my above post prompted this whole post to begin with! The photo above started a conversation with @tattoodjay which got me thinking to do a post about the bridges! Thats right, you heard me right, bridges! I am not quite sure why we call it The Bluewater Bridge when actually there are two! Alot of people around here now say The Twin Bridges, which sounds way better to me. It may be because there was a time when there was only one bridge.

image

The original Bluewater Bridge was under construction from 1928 to 1938 to create a commercial crossing between countries. This was a major construction build for way back then! It was broadcasted on the news around the world. The bridge would be co-owned by both countries. Both countries decided it was best to hire Americas greatest bridge builder to be lead engineer and ensure a safe build as everyone around the world was tuning in, and there was no room for error. However, as careful as they were, accidents still happened. A riveter fell 130 feet to his death and a little girl lost her arm playing at the construction site who later died of tetanus. There are even rumors of a man falling into the concrete and many people still believe it today. Once the engineeer overcame these obsticles he still had to deal with the strict rules of the army. The shipping channel on the St. Clair River needed to remain open with at least a 150 foot clearance. After everything, the contilevee truss bridge, known as The Bluewater Bridge was opened on October 10th 1938. Consisting of 2 lanes and sidewalks the bridge was a relief to everyone. The 0.25 toll for 30 years to help offset the cost of the bridge was no big deal for people to pay, considering the convenience. The bridge became more and more popular over the years that they removed the sidewalk and put in a third lane in 1980. However, that only lasted a short 12 years before talk of a second bridge began.

image

image

The second bridge was going to be a bowstring arch bridge. They decided to go with this type because it would look most like the original and would be more cost effective. They began construction in 1992. Wow I was only 5 years old. It really is hard to remember a time there wasn't two bridges. What was supposed to take a total of 10 years to build, only took 5. It opened on July 22, 1997.. I remember that day pretty well. If I think back it was a big celebration. They had opened the bridge to the public and allowed people to walk across. So my dad and I decided to take the trek. What is normally a short drive really is a long walk in the heat. There were people passing out from heat exhaustion. They only expected a small number of people but when the numbers grew way more than expected they had to shut down the bridge to walkers. At night they set the most beautiful fireworks display off the bridge. A time capsule full of memories about the bridge was placed with the bridge. Right after opening the new bridge they closed the old one for renovations. They re-opened it November 13th, 1999, which is now what we consider The Twin Bridges.

image

image

Today, the Twin Bridges has become the third most popular commercial crossing in Ontario. It sure does get busy out there, Sometimes the simple half hour drive can take a whopping all day. The traffick does get that bad! The bridge gets upwards of 4.7 million vehicles passing over it every year! After cancelling the toll at the 30 year mark of the first bridge they decided to bring it back to offset the cost of the new bridge. It is now an average of 3.00 and up depending on your vehicle size. I think they will never get rid of the toll now! They make too much money on that! At the bridges longest point, it stretches 6,178 feet. It joins the highway 402 in Point Edward, Ontario Canada with the I-94 and I-69 in Port Huron, Michigan U.S.A. 233 feet above the St. Clair River. When you think about it, that's actually pretty incredible. It is a pretty massive bridge when you are standing under it. We would know because my husband @skylineking88, children and I often go under the bridges for "bridge fries". If you have never tried "bridge fries, you should! They are a summer must have in Sarnia!

image

Overall, the bridge is very beautiful. It brings alot of life to our city. I know I am thankful I can easily cross whenever I want! Making it quicker to get to other parts of Canada! I was born here and even I did not know all of this information before doing this post. I had to do alot of research because before this, I just considered it an old bridge. Never gave it much more thought other than that! I am very thankful for the conversation I had with @tattoodjay, because now I see so much more! There may be a lot of crappy things about my hometown, but I am now able to open my eyes and look past all the bad and see the benefits! Which makes it a little more bearable to live in Sarnhole, the land of "burning ass hair, cancer and desperation"!

image


References I used for my research below.
Wikipedia
Sarnia Joirnal
Sarnia Historical Society
Bluewaterbridge.ca


image


[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 42.973506 lat -82.412567 long d3scr) !steemitworldmap 42.9986 lat 82.4239 long Bluewater Bridge d3scr - world map
Sort:  

wow great pics but the ass hair! lol : D nice skye!

Thank you.

Thank you skye!, did you like my last art post "indiffrence" what you think ? great to get your interpretion! : )

Thanks for sharing such a magnificient engineering master pieces. Keep it up. I follow and upvote you.

Thank you.

Nicely done @skye1.

Thank you.

Love that second shot with the sunburst. I’m sure your town is wonderful, but the burning ass hair smell part will probably keep out the tourists.

It can be bad at times but we do hold a lot of power and chemical plants here! Its the smell of making the world go round!! Lol. Thank you!

I too overlooked the town I was born and raised in as just the murder capital of Wisconsin, but there are so many cool things there too. I'm glad you could share more about the twin bridges, there is some cool history there. BTW, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Thank you so much. Yes of course you can nominate it if you like. I am going to swing by your page and OCD as I have never heard of it. Maybe I will see a post about your city in the future!

the urban dictionary quote is dead on!
Ha ha, I have some friends from Sarnia!

love the history on this and a bit of the morbit bits because that's how things are, build huge great unnatural structures and life happens.....
also the asshair part

Thanks!I am glad you enjoyed it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=skye1
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-sarnia-the-twin-bridges-584688bddb324


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Heya, I think you might have tagged this in the wrong place by accident.

You can still fix this by updating your post.

The easiest way to get the code is:

So I'd suggest removing the current tag and updating it with the new one! Do let me know, as I think the post is great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49