Clean Monday in Greece

in #travel7 years ago

Hello everyone!

Right after carnival season each year Greeks have a beautiful feast called Clean Monday (Καθαρά Δευτέρα in Greek). It is movable holiday depending on Easter date. This day has very bright atmosphere and the feeling of spring!

DSC_0015 2.JPG
Clean Monday in Athens

It is the first day of Lent for Eastern Christians and is a public holiday in Greece. Traditionally people mark it by gathering with family and friends, going for a picnic and flying kites. There is a special menu for this day: seafood, unleavened bread without yeast called Lagana and legume dishes.

DSC_0029.JPG

DSC_0032.JPG

I always enjoy Clean Monday in Greece, because I spend time outdoors with my friends, eat delicious meals and sometimes even fly a kite! :)

38555388350_3f03fbd115_o 2.jpg
Picnic with a view in Crete island on Clean Monday

If you are in Greece for biggest Carnival weekend, be sure to stay for Clean Monday as well. It is lovely!

You can see some pictures from this year’s Ierapetra carnival in Crete island in my previous post: https://steemit.com/greece/@skvyrla/carnival-in-greece

I hope you enjoy my posts!

Just getting started, so don’t forget to click “Follow” for more places and experiences of Greece!

Sort:  

Cool. I sure enjoyed your post. Lovely holiday you have in your country

Thank you!

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84