Motorbike trip in Vietnam

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

The trip turned from 1 month trip from HCM to Hanoi into 4 months trip in Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, Myanmar and Cambodia.

Budget: about 500$ per month (excluding my motorbike which I bought 9 months before trip)

How to get a motorbike  

You can either buy trash Chinese manual Honda Win like everyone does and pay 250-350$ or you can go to local market and get an automatic scooter for reasonable price on the Đường Dĩ An street. There is a huge choice of used motorbikes:

Đường Dĩ An - Bình Đường, Di An, Binh Duong, Ho Chi Minh 

https://goo.gl/maps/qyZQ84qzF5F2 

My motorbike - Yamaha Nouvo II 150 cc

I bought my motorbike 9 months before trip as an expat to move around in Saigon. It has customized parts with  body upgraded to Nouvo III version.

Price: 240$ (5.3M VND) 

Trunk for Yamaha scooters

It took me one day of searching to find a trunk to my bike on my own, I've added trunk extension that I've found at one of the shops for free.

Cost of Yamaha trunk at the store: 16$ (350K VND), welding cost: 1$

Custom trunk made at motorbike workshop can cost even 50$

I've found my trunk here:

146 Bùi Hữu Nghĩa street (it's a street full of  shops with motorbike parts)

https://goo.gl/maps/2Q9BwBDhd4p

First day of the trip:


More about motorcycles for travelling Vietnam:

 

There is a high risk that you'll get ripped off at Vietnamese store if you don't negotiate well. Here you can speak English and you won't be cheated, but you will pay a little bit more:

http://tigitmotorbikes.com/  


Next articles:

* How to cross the boarders in SEA on motorbike without having most of the required documents

* How to get away without paying money after being pulled over by the police in Vietnam 

* How to hitchhike from HCM to Hanoi in 7 days and spend 0$

* Motorbike trip from HCM to Hanoi

   ** La Gi

   ** Da Lat

   ** Pham Rang

   ** Nha Trang

   ** Hoi An

   ** Da Nang

   ** Hue

   ** Ninh Binh

   ** Ha Long Bay 

   ** Sa Pa 

   ** Ha Giang

   ** Pu Luong Nature Reserve

* How to sleep for free (no couchsurfing, no tent, no hammock) in Vietnam and Laos

* Laos on motorbike

* Thailand on motorbike

* Hitchhiking and sleeping for free in Myanmar

* How to fix your motorbike on the way

* Hitchhiking in Cambodia

* Cambodia on motorbike


Sort:  

my wife and I plan on going from Hanoi to HCM by train. I'll let you know how that goes!!! hihihihi

I didn't do this kind of trip yet. So far I flew, rode a motorbike and hitchhiked between HCM and Hanoi!

Glad that stopped by Cambodia! Where did you end up here?

I'm living in HCM City for the second time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42