My St. Thomas Adventure

in #travel8 years ago

Hi everyone! I decided to do a few quick posts over the next couple days about my vacation to St. Thomas in the U.S. Virgin Islands. I hope you enjoy them.

This vacation actually began to take shape back in November 2015 when my parents expressed a desire to take their three adult children and all their families, 16 people in all, on a trip before their health wouldn't allow it. My two older sisters took charge of planning, originally, a cruise to the Caribbean was chosen for the all-inclusive aspects.  In the middle of December, though, my mother had a stroke and things were sketchy for several months. 


Health improves!


By March 2016 my mother's health improved, but stability was still poor and walking a cruise ship at sea didn't sound like a wise choice so the cruise was cancelled. More research and staying in St. Thomas seemed feasible by renting a beautiful 6-bedroom home and a cottage overlooking Magens Bay.



Home for a week! Paradise Found Villa


Dates were picked and contracts signed!  Let the adventure begin...


Day 1 - July 16, 2016


Rise and shine! Flight out of Pittsburgh Pennsylvania at 6:30AM results in getting up bright eyed and bushytailed at 2:30AM! Ugh! Tired but excited!




Coming into Cyril E. King Airport at 

Charlotte Amalie in St Thomas at 9:24AM!



Hope you enjoy this series as much as I'm enjoying the experience!

Sort:  

It looks like an interesting place and I have never been to the Caribbean, would like to go there one day. But in my opinion You should write more about the island and Your activities, not just post some holiday pictures.

It is beautiful here and will ruin you for any other bodies of water. Thanks for the advise and I will be writing more about the adventures in the following posts. This was just an intro to getting here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61