Travel Tips - What (not) to take on a trip to Asia? [Reviewing my packing list]

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Before I started my trip, I posted my packinglist and simply hoped that I brought everything I needed

Now, a month on the road, you really start rethinking what you put in that backpack. Tou're the one luring it all over the place and don't need some useless, extra weight. Some things you use, some things you don't. Some things you throw, some things you buy.

Wonderful extra's

Things I was well prepared for (apparently!). I absolutely love these items which I brought and would be heartbroken if I'd lose them.

Sleeping pillow

I absolutely adore the sleeping pillow I have. It is foldable and takes a it of space as I didn't want an inflatable, but completely worth it on 10-hour busrides.

Reusable waterbottle

During Steemfest we acquired a beautiful waterbottle which I decided to take with me. In the meantime, it's scratched, dented and ugly, but really worth it to take with you for fall-back water or simply to cut on use of plastic (buy a big bottle and refill!)

Casio watch

I am a watch person and love them, however the watches I have back at home, have too much emotional value and if they break, my heart will too. Therefore, I bought a Casio watch for about 35 euros which I can swim with, as well as bump it into places. It has the date, the time, the day, a timer, alarm, everything!

Headphones

Do I really need to explain this? Also, it is definitely worth it to get a Netflix account so you're able to download your favorite shows.

Powerbank

I use my powerbank on an almost daily basis. As I keep buying local sims for internet, my battery goes faster and as I love using Uber, Steemit, other social media and Whatsapp, I end up needing to charge my phone quite often. Also super convenient when you're in a hostel where the power socket isn't near your head and your phone is about to die :)

Extra's I bought

These are some things I bought on the way.

Snorkel

On the way, I bought a snorkel. Renting a snorkel was 100 Thai Baht whereas purchasing one was 280 Thai Baht. In the meantime I've used the snorkel a bunch of times and definitely paid off. It was a bit of a hassle getting it nicely fit in my bag, but I have it neatly organized at the top.

Tanktop, bikini and shorts

As I am now in hot countries only, I switched out a t-shirt for a tank top and also bought an extra bikini and shorts. The difference between a t-shirt and a tanktop is immense if you're staying in 30+ degrees and I am sweating my ass off when I am wearing a shirt only.

The bikini I brought took forever to dry, which got very frustrating at the end of the day and my chest was still wet.

I only had one pair of shorts and the rest only leggings. Hey, I want tanned legs too! I bought a pair of shorts and I am till hunting for a second pair!

Sarong

In Thailand I bought a sarong which is an amazing multi-purpose piece of cloth: beach towel, to cover yourself in temples, blanket.. Even a handkerchief if it's necessary and you do laundry the next day!

Fanny pack

I adore my Osprey Fanny pack. It's quite thin and has enough space to fit money, cards, passport and a phone it (though all of this combined will make it go bulky again). It is amazing, especially if you're wearing clothes which do not have pockets.

Long pants

Also, I am still looking for some loose longer pants. Harem pants, patiala salwar pants w/e. I do not regret bringing my leggings at all, but it's nice to have something long which doesn't hug your skin.

Unused/Barely used stuff

Unfortunately, also quite some of the bulkier items..

Hiking shoes and Softshell Jacket

As we are going to Australia, I wanted to be a little bit prepared for colder weather. So far, I've experienced colder weather once which was in the Umphang Jungle where I wore my softshell jacket and hiking boots.

Raincoat/Poncho

Also something I've barely used (* cough * not at all * cough *), was my raincoat/poncho. I know it's convenient when it's raining outside but it doesn't really rain much here. And when it does, it lasts for an hour maybe. Even when you get wet, you'll be dry in no-time.

I am still somewhat under the impression that I will need this at some point.

Sleeping Linen

Also this, I've used maybe twice so far during my trip. And this was in the jungle too. Shit was a bit nasty and shady.. It is however nice to have on you. Just in case you end up having to sleep in a dark corner of a dusty hostel. You never know, aye?

Microfiber towel

I have used this exactly once - also in the jungle, when we went to visit the waterfall. It is useful to have a towel with you if you plan to wing it, but I am generally staying in hostels or guesthouses where these things are provided.

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand and Australia (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

So easy to over pack I'm still doing it after years of traveling.

Definitely don’t want to have a wet chest...

Glad somebody is getting good use out of that Steem water bottle!

Hope all is goin great on this trip !!

Haha, yeah. There are major dents and scratches on it already :')

Everything is well so far! How have you been, @jaybird?

That’s what gives it character 😋

Doing great, eagerly awaiting the good weather! Summer jay is ready to rock n roll !

haha !! I loved your planning . Make sure that you take enough liquids into your body because summer started showing his beast mode in Asia . One thing I would never forget in packing list is POWER BANK . Thanks for your strategy for making a trip into a fun trip :)

Yeah, it's super dry I've noticed!

I absolutely adore my power bank and wouldn't be able to live without it, hehe

You now that you can increase you payouts fast just using BOTs?

Learn how here! / https://steewit.com/utopian-io/@yabapmatt/steem-bot-tracker-send-bids-directly-from-the-site

Thanks for nice tips! If it is possinble, I think gopro should be in the list :)

So far I didn't regret getting a go pro though!

Loved this post super helpful and I'm proud to say I have most of these things in my nomad kit! Although, the neck pillow is something I haven't been able to bring myself to do- what kind do you have? :D

It's not really a neck pillow - it's more like a tiny pillow!

I have the Ayacucho Travel Pillow and I love it! It will take more space than an inflatable pillow but this one is nice, soft and cozy. It's super comfortable!

oooh that does look awesome, I could never see how an inflatable pillow could be comfortable. Have you seen these? Kinda ridiculous but for some reason I'm intrigued!

0dffeb4d2a794bc044e0c858f822ec63.jpg

I would one day love to travel to Asia.
It would be a dream come true.
Thanks for this exquisite explanation.

You should! Where are you from?

Authenticity BOT!


Great job! We found more similar posts, but your post is the 1st one posted.
GrumpyCat / https://steewit.com/@grumpycat
can give you a downvote because of the copies!
Defend yourself! / https://steewit.com/delegation/@erodedthoughts/defend-yourself-against-grumpycat

You now that you can increase you payouts fast just using BOTs?

Learn how here! / https://steewit.com/utopian-io/@yabapmatt/steem-bot-tracker-send-bids-directly-from-the-site

Hi ,@sjennon beautiful post about your comfortable stay in various surroundings.Thanks and welcome to India and especially my state Assam.