Travel - Ladies, which travel backpack do you use?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

In an earlier post, quite some weeks ago, I mentioned that I planned the first half of my trip.

So today, I just got off Skype with my friend with whom I am going to hang out with for six months during our world trip. As we were creating an outline for our trip (where and we going to stay for how long and when?), I realized I still didn't really look into backpacks - and it is quite an important detail of the travel.


Source

That's the question I wanted to ask the wonderful Steemit travelers community!

Which travel backpack do you use?

I specifically asked for the ladies in my title, due to female backs are probably small and cute and tiny. Therefore companies apparently distinguish male backpacks from female backpacks.

I have been looking into it a little bit, but I am still not convinced! So far, I am very much charmed by the Tortuga Outbreaker, however I can't seem to find a physical retailer where I can actually try on the backpack.

The next one I thought about was the popular Osprey Farpoint 40 or the 55l which includes a daypack. But do we really need a daypack as a part of your backpack? I mean, it's just another small bag right?

Are there any other cool alternatives out there?

As for me, I would love a backpack with a laptop section, a backpack that opens up like a suitcase (so you don't need to stuff all your clothes in from the top) and something that doesn't look too fugly.


Sort:  

I 💛 my Tortuga backpack!!! I have an older model that I have used for 3+ years, and it's awesome.

It's roomy enough for longer term world travel, but it's small enough to fit as a carry on for flights! It's a big time saver to avoid checking a bag, plus a lot of airlines charge for checked bags nowadays, and of course there's the risk of it getting lost in transit.

My bag has a laptop section, plus some removable smaller pouches for toiletries or whatever. It has nice wide padded straps as well as a waist strap and a padded back. It's definitely one of the most convenient & comfortable bags I've carried!

It's also got a sleek design, which is nice for urban environments, but it's probably not the way to go if you intend to do a lot of wilderness camping. It's fine for a shortish nature trip, but there aren't adequate straps for attaching tents/sleeping bags/etc.

The side straps are suitable enough for squeezing in a yoga mat if the bag is not like bursting at the seams packed! You can really stuff a lot in there though.

The side pockets are somewhat convenient, and there's another zippered pocket on the waist strap for a passport or cash that I really like. Oh and there's a top handle as well as a side handle which makes it so easy to grab from an overhead bin or trunk or whatever!

It's a good sturdy material, but after several years of use I am finding that the zipper pulls are starting to bend.

I ordered mine online without trying it on first, but I have been very satisfied! The straps are adjustable for your height.

I highly recommend Tortuga 👍

Minaal was another brand I looked into, but they were still doing crowdfunding and hadn't actually released a real model at the time I was ready for a new bag. They look pretty good though, had a lot of features I wanted.

It sure does sound amazing. I just can't stop watching YouTube videos, hehe.

It's not that it needs to carry a tent and what not, we will most likely stay in hostels. The only thing is that the first week I arrive in Thailand, we will be going into the jungle so it needs to have some kind of proper water resistancy.

The thing I fancy most about the Tortuga is all the nice handles, straps and billion pockets. I really am a sucker for that!

It's good to know that everything is adjustable though. I hope it'd comfy. If there some kind of proper, sturdy padding at the back so it still remains it's shape even it is stuffed with all kinds of bullshit?

I will check out the Minaal!

Thank you so much for your reply :3

Oh yes, I stuff my backpack with all manner of bullshit and it holds its shape very well! The back has plenty of padding so it remains very comfortable! It's a really great design.

It sounds really appealing! And the new Tortuga is so pretty ;; So. Tempted.

But do we really need a daypack as a part of your backpack? I mean, it's just another small bag right?

I use a daypack to put my laptop and other important things. I check in the backpack or leave it somewhere sometimes. It is up to you.

I use Deuter brand, 8 years still good. 😊

Yeah, but it's just a simple bag. Nothing too fancy. It could also be another bag and not one which you can strap to your backpack? I am quite unsure about the benefits of it.

Which kind of Deuter :)

not one which you can strap to your backpack?

Ok, I don't know this one. Yeah just use a simple bag as a daypack.

Mine is small, I don't know what type of Deuter backpack this is lol. Pretty old. But you can check out their designs, can be good for ladies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86