Sjennon sees the World #47 - Visiting the Taman Bunga Nusantara Gardens in Jawa, Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago

What I've learned about Indonesians? They love flowers.

After they have been asking me if I wanted to see the botanical gardens and politely refused, they decided to take me to a different type of garden instead. To me though, a garden is a garden, right?

Anyway! Off we went in the car with our driver. And when I mean we, I mean a shit ton of people - I mean family. I don't know how they did it, but we stacked in a car with 10 people and drove east.

header.png

After I had a nice, short nap, we arrived at the gardens.

And what is a garden without flowers and plants!

We walked a bit before we ran into a small lake which contained a creepy statue. I failed to learn about the purpose of it though..

I've learned that a lot of Indonesian art can be described as creepy or dark. There are a lot of big eyed statues or black colored temples.

By the way, I am not sure if I even want to know what this lil' fellow is holding.

The statues may be creepy, but the architecture is pretty amazing and detailed. There are a lot of gates, equally split in half and decorated by some hanging carpet or colored bricks.

(I hope I didn't just wreck their culture just now.. * ahum * soggy napkins, @varunpinto @firepower)

Inside these gardens there was also a maze - fun! Or so I thought. Both me and my tall uncle-in-law(?) were towering above the maze walls.

I also found yellow bird.

And hearts and a dragon.

And an elephant and another bird.

After we round up our walk throught the gardens and grandma got tired, we decided to call it a day. Ofcourse, a day doesn't go without selfies!

And I discovered I look like a massive giant compared to my grandfather's sister.

Cheers ~

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Wow! All pictures are so damn beautiful :D

Also, that statue amidst the lake might be of Nyai Loro Kidul(a Goddess), not absolutely sure though.

Ohh, that could be true actually! Thanks for stopping by :D

Lovely pics @sjennon. The view of the old temple from bottom is really amazing. Loved the gardens.

you just find a nice way to ruin the culture .. don't u :P

WHAT! I am just being plainly honest :(

did you also know that indonesians love food as well. If you happen to eat indonesian food, try Nasi padang and nasi goreng, a friend recommended to me that, this is their traditional food. by the way how do you fund your world trip travel.

I know! Haha, it's great food, though I do prefer noodles over rice.

Currently it's being funded entirely by STEEM :)

"I've learned that a lot of Indonesian art can be described as creepy or dark. There are a lot of big eyed statues or black colored temples."

hahaha that was damn hilarious ! I love the honesty!!!

It's true :O Their eyes are always bulding and they're smiling in some creepy way, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83