Sjennon sees the World #46 - From India to Indonesia [Family, here I come!]

in #travel6 years ago

After spending about a month in colorful India, it was time for me to move on. Next top: Java, Indonesia.

Indonesia was planned, unlike India, however I wouldn't want to miss this country for the world. What was there to do here? Meeting my family.

header.png

Not just any family. My grandfather was born in Bogor a.k.a Buitenzorg. He grew up there and later moved to The Netherlands for a job where he eventually met my grandmother and made a life and four kids together. That didn't mean that my grandfather leave anything or anyone behind though. My grandfather had six other brothers and sisters - of which only one sister is alive today. And to meet her was my goal for my trip to Java, Indonesia.

When I landed, I was picked up by my second aunt(?) and her driver at Jakarta Airport.

We got myself a sim card to get myself some internet and on our way to Bogor we were. In the car I was treated with some nice mini sandwiches.


This is just a few of them!

When we arrived in Bogor, we went straight to a restaurant to fill out bellies with foodies. At the restaurant, we met my grandfather's sister and a bunch of her kids (there are so many family members, I lost track).

I ordered some sate ayam, or chicken satay which reminded me exactly of how they make it back at the restaurant my family owns.

It was such a delight eating something familiar! I mean I knew Indian food before, but I tried so many new things that it felt relieving to eat something from back home. I can't wait to eat more Indonesian food <3

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Omg Such a huge family block chain is difficult to understand the what supposed to call them in relation such as uncle, aunt 😂

They are actual family though :)

Oh my God that is SO cute !!!!! I had no idea !!!
Indonesia keeps poping in front of my face in various ways lately, first Steemit, a movie, friends, Danish classmates, job offer (oh yes...)... I think there's some connection... we'll see! ;)))

Haha, maybe it's meant to be! Or maybe that just means there's a lot to do in Indonesia :D

Have you been here in the Philippines.... Sure you'll love it here... Have a grrat day @sjennon...😍😘

I haven't been in the Philipphines yet but someday that is definitely a place yet to explore!

I'll be looking forward seeing your travel blog about Philippines

Dont forget to visit us in aceh, success always for you brother @sjennon

Well come to indonesia @sjennon. Be happy and enjoy in my country. I am form aceh. Are you go to aceh?.

I didn't go to Aceh :( It wasn't on the road, unfortunately.

Selamat datang di indonesia @sjennon. Senang anda hadir disini. Di negara kami. Semoga menyenangkan dan dapat berbagi informasi disini.
Salam dari saya @airasteem.

Superb photos are those. I think a good number of steemians come from Indonesia. Are you going to be a part of any steem meet-up there?

Unfortunately not :(

the last picture made me hungry

I hope you are always healthy and successful, I hope we can meet in our country Indonesia, see you in Indonesia, I will upvote and restem

Selamat Makan! Have a nice time in Indonesia with your family. You are making an amazing trip around the world 😍 Enjoy.

Thanks @missmau! It was a great time for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66