Sjennon sees the World #45 - An Ode to Indian Moms

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I just wanted to dedicate this post to @geetharao and @mirrorwriter (among others)

As they are the lovely moms of @firepower and @wandereronwheels and @yesaye who fed, took care of me and gave me a place to sleep me during my stay in India.

header.png

During my travels, I realized the role of ye olde homemaker a.k.a. aunties a.k.a. Indian moms. One of the key things they do: feed you until you drop. There weren't many occasions where my stomach was able to digest food before the next meal, snack or juice was planted in front of me saying, "Drink/Eat me!"

It was great being hosted by you two. You were so easy to accept a strange foreign lady in your houses and wanted to make sure she was doing well. You guys did everything in your power to make me feel at home and for that I am grateful.

I feel like not everybody always realizes the role of an Indian mom. It's a struggle between how they're raised and how things are evolving now in India. They cook, do laundry, make drinks, clean the house etc. They do all of this without being asked and do not really ask for anything in return. It warmed my heart and I am really lucky to have experienced their generosity.

Hell, I already get depressed when I look at the pile of my own dishes in the kitchen - let alone doing it for an entire family.

Therefore, I really wanted to take some time and write a post specifically to thank the people who hosted and took care of me during my stay in India.

Thank you, @geetharao @firepower @varunpinto @mirrorwriter @wandereronwheels @yesaye @ariba03 @beginnings and @thing's mom for having me over, feeding me, taking care of my every need and introducing me to your wonderful and colorful country.

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Moms love is the best. @sjennon ..hehehe...glad to know you get the best from Indian moms no doubt @geetharao aunty ji is the best and the number of recipie she know is quite outstanding...even sometimes i started feeling hungry looking at some of her post. Hopefully you didn't put on some weight 😉

Her food is delicious honestly! I love her poori bhaji <3

I finished reading your post, is it your own story .. but I was impressed, visit my account @sjennon, I like to paint.

Hi dear @sjennon.... How are you? Missing you here..
Thank you so much for this special blog!

Hi @geetharao. I am doing well - I finally got my stomach fixed when I came back to Europe so I am really happy about that. And you're very welcome <3

How are you doing?

It was nice meeting you ma'am @sjennon.

What a great experience to meet new people around the world, you just receive so many blessings at once. May the Lord bless Indian moms for their awesome labor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76