Sjennon sees the World #37 - The Lotus Temple in New Delhi, India

in #travel6 years ago

It's not the Sydney Opera House, but it has pointy things and is pretty too!

Unlike other places of worship which usually have an idol of a deity people pray to, asking for either forgiveness or something that they deeply desire, the Lotus Temple is a rather unique place of worship. It is known for its beautiful flower-like architecture and marvelous ambiance that make it a popular tourist attraction for people of all faiths. - India

header.png

Surrounded by nicely nurtured greenery, the temple makes a majestic appearance and is even seen from the Delhi metro. Personally, I love the architecture of this building. It's smooth, minimal and geometric. It is absolutely satisfying.

To make things more prominent, there's a big ass line of people before you even get into the temple itself. We're in India, what else did we expect though?

However, that doesn't deny the fact that the place still remains fancy. And with the waiting time, you have some time to click some pictures and enjoy the architecture.

Once you've taken your shoes off and got few instructions, you're allowed inside the temple. Honestly, it is one big room filled with chairs. The only decoration would be the circle at in the center of the ceiling.

All in all, I did like the temple a lot. You go inside because it's part of the experience, but not necessarily a must in my opinion. Though, entry is free, so on the other hand why the hell not?!

divider-long

!steemitworldmap 28.5515284 lat 77.2526095 long The Indian Sydney Opera House D3SCR

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, India, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

This is one of the most beautiful places in New Delhi @sjennon. Very peaceful as well! But in summers, it's difficult to stand outside even for 1 second. I used to go there frequently as my office was very near. It was also visible through my desk. Sadly I don't have any photo right now but we used to click many pictures especially during rainy season. :-)

a great trip, have a great day,if there is time please help me yes

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sjennon
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sjennon-sees-the-world-37-the-lotus-temple-in-new-delhi-india


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@sjennon u managed to sneak into one of the peace place, it is also known as Bahai temple as built by bahai community. Hope you like this shot with blue water and the white marble piece.

image

🙏Namaste
@steemflow

Oh that's great and yes you will see huge line and cue in the temples because we are really spiritual beings. I hope that you really enjoyed this experience. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

lol, that shit in the pant face of mine though :P

Beautiful place mam👏

@sjennon Very good post. Nice pictures of Lotus Temple. I have been there and indeed it is one of the best place in Delhi

I lived both in India and Australia When I read "it is not Opera house " I had fun :) :) Enjoy your stay in New Delhi !!! However in these days I heard it was around 42 degress ......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46