Sjennon sees the World #31 - Gawking at Rhinos during our Kaziranga National Park Safari in Assam, India

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I have never been on a safari, so I was simply excited by the concept only!

You know, the typical - hopping in a jeep with your binoculars and your safari hat and off you go!

Eventhough I did not have a safari hat or binoculars, it was still kinda what I expected (if add off-roading).

header.png

..And I couldn't help myself but imagine the scene of Jurassic Park.. I mean like. I want THAT.

ANYWAY WE ARE IN KAZIRANGA, NOT IN JURASSIC PARK (but a person can dream, right?)

What makes Kaziranga so special?

RHINOS!

Kaziranga National Park (pronounced Assamese pronunciation: [kaziɹɔŋa ɹastɹiɔ uɪddan]) is a national park in the Golaghat and Nagaon districts of the state of Assam, India. The sanctuary, which hosts two-thirds of the world's great one-horned rhinoceroses, is a World Heritage Site. - Wikipedia

Besides the rhinos, Kaziranga is also known for their tiger population - spoiler alert, I didn't see any of those though.

When we arrived, we had the option to do the safari on an elephant on by Jeep. What'd you do?

I have heard awful stories about the caretaking of elephants in Thailand. Not sure how the situation is in India, but I did not want to risk it. I have a weakness for elephants as they are so massive, yet so cute.

We chose to go by Jeep. After all, it's faster! As we had to wait for our driver, we were passed by a mom and her kid. Would you just look at that adorable tiny thing?

The driver came back and we were on our way! We took off on a dirt road and got to enjoy the variety of sceneries of the national park.

Kaziranga is a vast expanse of tall elephant grass, marshland, and dense tropical moist broadleaf forests, criss-crossed by four major rivers, including the Brahmaputra, and the park includes numerous small bodies of water. - Wikipedia

It was pretty amazing to drive through the different sorts of sceneries and landscapes. Some were foresty, or simply a meadow. Other's were dried up and sometimes you'd drive past amazingly tall grass.

C'mon, rhinos, where you at! We've seen several glimpses of deer and buffalos and we've seen multiple types of birds, but nothing too rhino-y. After an hour we decided to go for a little pee break before continuing.

I think I stared at this toilet for a solid 30 seconds trying to figure out how to work this thang. Apparently everything is just supposed to go through the little hole in the wall. I mean, I know the Indian toilets. But this is like.. half an indian toilet. I put my mind to zero and used the bathroom like the sophisticated lady I am and off we went again!

Vroom, vroom!

But hey, what is that?

ITS A RHINOO!!!11!!1!!!11

He was happily snorting and running around with the white bird who was hitching a ride on his back. It was amazing to see such massive animals showing such playfulness. It was amazingly cute and impressive. Once the rhino discovered us, though, he was acting all cool and hard-to-get as he slowly walked away from us.

Want to know what my face was like?

We stood there for a solid 15 minutes before the rhino had walked off and our driver decided to move on. Seriously. This was definitely something we'd been looking for and we were happy we got it!

All hyped up and excited we finished our safari, caught some more glimpses of rhinos and other animals in the distance before we hopped back in our own car.

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and the USA (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Facinating trip. Have you considered adding this to @steemitworldmap -- Stopped by because Keni posted a complete memberlist to the SMG group on Facebook. I thought I should stop by and visit everyone. See you around.

I actually did it for awhile but lot lazy at some point, hehe. Thanks for reminding me!

It's a really cool program that map. I want to map everything. Yeah, I forget too lol

Hehe, for sure!

wonderful post and place too.
hope you all had enjoyed in kaziranga National park.

I did! Thanks

your most welcome mam.

Nice your post

Such a beautiful trip! Glad you saw a rhino as they are becoming a rarity in this world! And I am so glad you picked the jeep option. Even if they treat them better than in Thailand no animal should be used for our pleasure or to take over our work. They should be wild and free. Just like that rhino and its bird companions! Happy travels!

Yeah, me too. We were all a bit stunned and mesmerized by it actually.

Besides that, I would probably fall asleep on them too - the wobble and the slow pace, hehe.

Thanks for stopping by <3

a very enjoyable and exhausting trip, a very nice safari place. thank you for sharing, please help to support me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60