Sjennon sees the World #11 - Visiting the National Park of Koh Lanta, Thailand [Laying on the beach with Monkeys]

in #travel6 years ago

It was time for us to leave Koh Phi Phi

Two hungovers and one of the worst mattresses later, we found ourselves on a ferry that took is to Koh Lanta - another island - which was supposed to be a bit earlier and gentler on us.


TEASERRRrrr

We got down from the ferry and got picked up by a lady in a tuktuk which was perfect. We were dying to go to bed! We decided to stay at Hey Hostel - a hostel at the beach. Like, quite literally. After Koh Phi Phi and our beautiful hike to Long Beach, we decided that we wanted to be even closer to the water, so that is exactly why we chose this hostel.

In our hostel, we met a bunch of amazing people with whom we rented some scooters with and went on our way to the south of the island to take a look at what this island had to offer. It was super convenient to rent a scooter as we could get it fixed right at our hostel reception and just take the assigned scooter from the parking lot.

It was about an hour drive from the hostel down to the southern part of the island. The road was easy - just one straight road! However, it was the first time I would ride a scooter in Thailand and let alone drive on the left side of the road! Luckily, I got a nice introduction to is as we went with a bunch of other people and I swore off not to drive first.

After a nice drive with turns and going up and down, we reached the National Park. We were required to pay an entry fee for both us and the scooter and then we were allowed to continue so. Little did I know that there were monkeys at the side of the road who more that eagerly ran up to the bag of freshly cut pineapple on my scooter and dug it's arm inside. As someone who hadn't seen any of these monkeys in the wild before, I must admit to be quite startled. Basterds!

We entered the National Park and went straight for the beach. Little did I know that these little suckers were crowding the place! I didn't mind as I hadn't experienced anything as such before. Unfortunately, we had to miss Monkey Beach on Koh Phi Phi, so seeing these monkeys were still on my bucket list.


Look at this cute, little, teeny tiny monkey!

Here too, I decided to bring the snorkeling gear and submerged myself to see something of the marine life. Eek! Fishies!

As soon as I was done with that, the lighthouse was still a point of interest. Almost right next (and up) to the beach, was an old(?) lighthouse located on top of a hill which really offered a great view.

It might not look like it, but shit was high af though.

It gave me the jeepers! Somehow, I am always super scared to look down - you know, just in case I lose my balance and actually do fall. It was an easy climb of maybe a minute so it wasn't that far up. There actually is a nature hiking trail which we attempted to do, but as it mostly consisted of a lot of stairs going upwards, we kinda bailed on that 1/8th of the trail. Ehehe, whoopsie.

divider-long

Mu Ko Lanta National Park
Moo 5, Tambon Ko Lanta Yai
Amphoe Ko Lanta
Krabi, 81150
Thailand

Click on the image to go to Google Maps

!steemitworldmap 7.468504 lat 99.0932418 long Beaches with Monkeys and a funky Lighthouse D3SCR

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand and Australia (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

although you are less nayaman during sleep, but this is a very enjoyable trip and a very beautiful place to enjoy @sjennon.

Great Post, Thanks For Sharing :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sjennon
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sjennon-sees-the-world-11-visiting-the-national-park-of-koh-lanta-thailand-laying-on-the-beach-with-monkeys


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good friend.

Wonder full post.beautiful photography.I love it.thanks for shearing.

Ohh so that's how they get that shot! From the top of a lighthouse!
I always saw those top-view photos of beaches and would wonder. Mystery solved haha.
Your adventure seems to be going pretty well, that scooter ride in the empty roads with the wind brushing against the face must've been a cool experience!

We'll probably that! And soon you'll be seeing more and more of these type of sky photos due to drones. It's getting easier and easier to get your hands on those too!

And yes, for sure! I used to own a scooter back at home but I forgot how much I enjoyed riding it.

Awesome, look forward to seeing them!
I've yet to learn how to ride a scooter and I'm already 20!
Gonna ask my bro @wandereronwheels to teach, after all he's good with 2 wheels! :P

Oo how did you never learn to ride a scooter?! And you even know @wandereronwheels!

'Know' would be an understatement xD
Yeah, I never really needed to learn because if I ever needed a drop, I'd either ask bro or mom. Life's easy that way. But not that fun! So I planned on starting to learn this month.
Hopefully I'll learn ASAP and then you'll see me in one of Wanderer's bike vlogs! :P

Aaah, but then you're so dependent! I love driving the scooter :)

And yes! looking forward to that :D

True!
Thanks, looking forward to loving riding the scooter too! ;)

your post about monkeys
I have a tail flower monkeys

@sjennon beautiful memories down here. My dream is to go on tour someday until then am still dreaming

Make your dreams come true!

Awwwww so cute! Looks like an amazing time!!

It was amazing to see them roaming around the beach towels and grabbing inside a bag now to steal food, hahah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13