Prepping my Worldtrip - I finally got my backpack! [Osprey Farpoint 55]

in #travel7 years ago

After long decision making, I finally got my hands on the Farpoint 55!

The first time I went to the store, the guy suggested to get a bigger backpack than 55 liters and instantly saddled me with a 70 liter one. "Because you can compress it still when you have space left," he said. And in my mind I only thought: When there is space, that means that it can be filled. We can pack more! -- And that is exactly what I want to avoid during my travels.

Why the Osprey Farpoint 55?

Actually, I had set my mind on the Osprey Farpoint earlier. I have been a member of several digital nomad Facebook groups as a result of my research for them when I was working on my thesis. Ever since my thesis, I had been neglecting those groups, but since I had to start preparing and doing some more research for my travels, activity slowly increased again. Many people had or suggested Osprey as a brand on it's own, and more than one nomad were travelling even lighter with the Farpoint 40. (Let's not exaggerate with the minimal packing, shall we? I am still used to two closets.)

Failure to launch

Last weekend, we went over to one of the better known outdoor stores in Amsterdam: Bever Sport. The plan to buy the bag and happily walking out of the store with it was quickly disrupted when they didn't have it in stock anymore. So we had to order it after all. Great.

SO IT JUST CAME IN AND I AM PSYCHED!

What I absolutely love about this backpack is that fact that it opens like a suitcase. No more digging into your luggage from the top if you happen to have something at the bottom. Just zip it open and there you go! Everything to your convenience :D

When I say 55 liter, it means that in total it is 55 liter. The actual compartment is 40 liters and the extra daypack attached to it is the other 15 liters. Love it!

This is also the pack in which the laptop sleeve is located. Super easy to just zip the daypack off when you're flying. Also, if you're lucky with not too much luggage, you might be able to smuggle the entire backpack as cabin luggage.

Ohohoh, you can also use this backpack as a simple bag to carry. You can hide the straps and use it from the handle on the side.

Fancy schmancy! So ofcourse, first thing I did was to collect most of the things I want to bring and stuff it in there. Earlier I bought some compression bags from Amazon and they are super convenient. I can stuff whatever in my big ass luggage compartment.

This is what I quicklty collected to stuff it inside, and I still got space. Also it's not too heavy yet.

  • A pair of sneakers;
  • Two leggings;
  • One pair of pants;
  • Six pairs of socks;
  • Five pairs of boxers;
  • Two bra's;
  • Some toiletries;
  • Laptop;
  • Universal adapter;
  • Four shirts;
  • Softshell jacket;
  • Vest;
  • Sleeplinen;
  • Pillow;
  • Towel.

In case you're curious about this backpack, I found this super convenient YouTube video in where this chick shows it all!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

Sweet!
Tell me Shannon, what compression bags do you recommend? I'm rotating clothes in my closet; the stuff that's good and can be worn again when it comes back into fashion needs to be stored compactly... Your recommendation would be awesome for storage space at home!
Please write a post about this rather than just replying to my comment 😉

I love those backpacks! Mine is forclaz 50L, it used to be enough actually but since I plan longer trips, I feel like I need to get one 70L soon! :)

Ah cool! So far, I am really happy with it but I guess I will only find out after I actually start using it!

They also have a Farpoint 70 by the way. Might be worth looking into!

I'll check it out. Thank you for informing me :)

nice bag friend, though must be in the message but satisfied with its quality

That's exciting! When's your trip?

Yes for sure! I am leaving the 20th!

Wow Excellent post go ahead friend best of luck

Good to see you have decided on an Osprey!! I recently started traveling with the Osprey Meridian 75. It has wheels so I can use it as backpack and wheeled bag at the same time. I love it! The amount of small compartments is perfect for all my smaller stuff I bring with me.Also the small backpack is pretty handy. It only sometimes is inconvenient when you quickly need something from the larger bag and you need to detach the backpack first. Enjoy your worldtrip!!

That sounds amazing too! I considered that but I am not sure if the extra weight of the wheel carriage is worth it.

Thank you! I really hope I can use it to it's full purpose :D

Where are you travelling to?

I have nothing planned at the moment. I used it for a cruise & Panama. The weird combination of luxury and remote made me pick this bag. The wheels and construction make it more heavy, and my bag is mostly useful if you plan on using the wheels more than the backpack. It is just pretty handy to be able to put your suitcase on your back ;)

Yeah, but it makes sense though! I actually considered this before because I am a lazy person who doesn't want to carry much, but a backpack is probably more convenient if you move a lot :p

As long as there is not enough asphalt, it is probably the best way ;) I am curious how often you will use the normal bag option. My guess would be almost never.

I have no idea to be honest. I shall discover it and let you know! Haha

Ik hou het in de gaten ;) Fijne reis!!

Leuk man, al die voorpret! Vind t heerlijk om 'licht' te reizen! Geen gesleep met allemaal spul 😉 wanneer vertrek je?

Ja, ik ben gewoon héél benieuwd naar hoe het is enzo! En ja, inderdaad. Is ook zo vermoeiend en we zijn liever lui dan moe!

Ik vertrek de 20e!

I have this pack and have been SUPER happy with it!!!

Oh, wow really? :D That's awesome! Where did you take it to?

So far, just trips around the US and then to Coasta Rica and Panama. It's perfect for backpacking trips though (travel backpacking, not hiking)!

Travel backpacking for sure. Not planning to hike with this! Hehe.

Any cool things I need to know?

Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for your post @sjennon! A great journey starts with a good preparation. I always love it to get ready to go! I wish you an amazing trip! Btw. we just returned from a world trip so if you need some inspiration, i invite you to check my blog:-)

Thank you so much for your kind words! I will definitely take a look :D

I wish you the most fun journey you could ever wish for :) Enjoy!!

Thank you so much! I hope I will experience exactly that ha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48