Las Falles festival in Valencia Spain - Sixex Travel #1

in #travel7 years ago

Hello all, my name is Luke and I've done quite a bit of traveling in my 31 years. I figured now is as good a time as ever to start sharing some of my experiences with the world. I worked in an office for 6 and 1/2 years after university but I decided that life wasn't for me. So I started teaching English overseas and have since taught in South Korea and Spain. So without further ado I'd like to introduce the first of what I hope will be a series of travel and photography blogs Sixex Travel!

I attended the Las Falles festival in Valencia, Spain earlier this year. (It's called Falles in Valencian or Fallas in Spanish. Big difference, I know.) This festival is amazing because there are hundreds of these highly detailed and surreal looking sculptures scattered throughout the city. They’re on display for a few days and then one the last day at midnight the start burning them all to the ground.

There’s something both sad and beautiful about these gorgeous (and expensive) sculptures going up in flames. It’s just art in its purest form to see something so unique to be destroyed before your eyes. Many of the sculptures have lots of fanfare when they’re burned. Some have a band playing and a beauty queen in traditional dress will light an explosive wick to set the sculpture ablaze.

This one with pirates was my favorite sculpture. I'll have to post a video of this burning at some point.

The firefighters at the aftermath of a burning. Sometimes they will pre-soak buildings with water to prevent the fire from spreading.

This was voted as one of the top 5 sculptures at the 2017 festival. I love how it combines the beautiful whimsical jesters juxtaposed with ugly trolls.

The worst part about the festival is that the streets are packed with people and kids will throw firecrackers that will explode right by your feet. I’m glad I packed earplugs because I would be deaf right now if I didn’t.

I’m hoping to post a lot more of my travel experiences, so if you like what you see please upvote and follow me!

Never miss an opportunity to explore :) - Luke @sixexgames

Sort:  

Looking forward to more travel stories!!!

Thanks @pearica I have many more that I'd like to share :)

Hello, nice to meet you, awesome post, did you know I visited Granada some years ago and I loved it to be there, I invite you to follow me because in s a couple of days I will be posting my travel pictures and my post about that, thanks in advance.

Thanks, yeah I'll post about Granada at some point too :)
Looks good! I followed and upvoted your latest post. Hablo un poco de español. jaja

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sixexgames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

WE LOVE FALLAS!!! We're going to be in Valencia for Fallas 2018 .... our fourth one!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57