Going Back to My Roots in Butikofen Switzerland - Photos - Sixex Travels #4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170415_110732.jpg
One of the main reasons that I traveled to Switzerland was to go back to my roots and see the places where my ancestors lived. A town that was on my radar was Butikofen (near Bern).

IMG_20170415_125539.jpg

Butikofen is a very tiny town with probably less than 100 people. There is no bus or train access from Bern. So why would I want to go there? For the simple reason that the town's name is my mother's maiden name and we can trace our ancestry there. I had to walk several miles from the nearest town and I wondered if visiting would even be worth the effort. But curiously I kept seeing tractor after tractor passing me on the road.

tractors.jpg

When I arrived I was surprised to see there was a huge tractor show taking place. I'm not personally interested in them, but my grandfather sold them for a living, so I thought it was very fitting. They also had a catered lunch, so I was able to have a brat and a beer in the town of my ancestors.

food.jpg

I had no expectations for my journey but it was well worth it. For a time I just sat staring at the surrounding countryside and contemplated the fact that those that are responsible for me living, lived and died among these hills. So it was a very effecting experience for me and I had this vague feeling of being "home".
Thanks for reading, here are a couple more views of the town before I go.

tree.jpg

IMG_20170415_120027.jpg

I don't understand what this sign is for.
IMG_20170415_112709.jpg

sheep.jpg

I have many more travel experiences to share, so if you enjoyed this, please upvote this and follow @sixexgames Thanks :)

Here's my next Sixex Travel post about Bolnuevo Spain.

Sort:  

Very nice photos!
Pleasant place!
It's very cozy there, quiet town!

Thanks :) Yeah just like most of Switzerland it's very green and very calm. It was great to venture away from the big cities in my trip.

hey @sixexgames man I really love this article. great combo of text and epic photos to tell your story. I am one of the curators part of @ocd so... :)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks, I accept. I'll check out the project.

Sounds good congrats again :) Check tomorrow's post to see if you made it the the top five. 18 curators vote of the nominations tomorrow.

Congrats again keep doing great things

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sixexgames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

beautiful.. glad you could make it back to your root, where r u living now?

I'm in Reno in the USA now, but I may move back to Spain later this year.

Sweet, thanks man!

You're welcome buddy. you'll get a little SBD bonus in a week.

Well perhaps more since I'm sure the post itself will break a $1,000 payout ;)

Ayyyyy now that would be epic universe. Nothing better than giving money to people that have earned it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72